Skip to main content

Academic Representatives, Librarians, and Collection Policies

Information regarding collection development at the University Library. This includes information about subject librarians, department contacts and our policy on each subject we collect.

Collection Policy for FOOD SCIENCE AND HUMAN NUTRITION

General Purpose

The Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition (FSHN) is a large and diverse department administered jointly by two Colleges, Agriculture & Life Sciences and Human Sciences. Faculty often have appointments in more than one department and all curricula are available to students in either college. Major emphases are in the areas of nutrition, dietetics, food science and food safety. The general direction for the collection is to support undergraduate education while strengthening support for graduate and faculty research through cooperative relationships between the Library and the Department.

Short-term collection goals:

  • Monitor nursing requests via ILL to better target needed topics/publications.
  • Provide more support for distance students – e.g., short tutorials (both video and text-based).
  • Provide consultation services via Zoom for distance
  • Work with AOAC reps to find a permanent fix for sporadic access issues with OMA Online a.k.a. Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC (Online).

Long-term collection goals:

  • Find a way to purchase the Cochrane Library.
  • Conduct a collection analysis for food safety and/or dietetics resources.

LibGuides for FOOD SCIENCE AND HUMAN NUTRITION

Academic Representative

Manju B Reddy

Phone: 515 294-2024
Email: mbreddy@iastate.edU

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Librarian for AgEdS & Extension;
Head, Research Services Dept.
150c Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569