Skip to main content

Academic Representatives, Librarians, and Collection Policies

Information regarding collection development at the University Library. This includes information about subject librarians, department contacts and our policy on each subject we collect.

Collection Policy for EDUCATION

General Purpose

This collection development policy is designed to provide guidance for the planning and selection of library resources in support of all educational instruction and research programs. It is also intended to be a resource document for students, faculty, and others to consult in order to determine the existing strengths of the collection, current levels of collection activity and future goals of the collection. There are two departments in the College of Education that are supported by educational materials; Curriculum and Instruction, and Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.

The Curriculum and Instruction Department provides the professional course work that leads to licensure of teachers. At the undergraduate level, students may choose to major in early childhood education or elementary education. Students planning to teach at the secondary level major in a subject outside the College of Education must complete courses required in the teacher education program. At the graduate level, the department offers work for the degrees master of arts in teaching, master of science, master of education, and the doctor of philosophy as well as minor work to students taking major work in other departments.

The Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Department provides graduate degrees only. It has a Ph. D in Education program with an emphasis on higher education administration, educational administration and community college leadership. There is an M. Ed or M. S. in High Education or Educational Administration with an emphasis on student affairs, community college leadership, leadership and learning or educations administration. There is also a Ph. D with a social justice concentration in the high education administration program.

LibGuides on EDUCATION

Academic Representative

Douglas Wieczorek

Phone: 515 294-4486
Email: dwieczor@iastate.edu

Your Librarian

Cara Stone (Educ. & Info. Literacy Librarian)'s picture
Cara Stone (Educ. & Info. Literacy Librarian)
Contact:
Parks Library 140
515.294.9030