Journalism & Communication Research Guide

Purpose "is to enable the evaluation of the information literacy and research skills of journalism students and professionals by providing a set of framing concepts pertinent to that profession."

"The Nieman Journalism Lab is an attempt to help journalism figure out its future in an Internet age."

The goal is to "reinvent the relationship between news organizations and audiences to elevate enterprises that empower citizens"

CISLM supports established and emerging local news organizations through applied research and analysis

"....reports on all aspects of news media and multimedia news publishing."

A library research guide containing resources on media literacy and fake news.

This is a google doc created by a faculty and librarian at the City University of New York (CUNY). It is shared under creative commons license and can be re-purposed for other uses as long as the re-purposing is not for commercial use and that the original creators are acknowledged.

The organization's mission is to encourage the advancement of news media, especially local publishers and newspaper media. It also conducts research, offers training, convenes leaders and creates tools for journalism.

ACP, through education training and recognition programs for members, promotes the standards and ethics of good journalism as accepted and practiced by print, broadcast and electronic media in the US. The site also links to contact information for hundreds of organizations and resources of interest to student journalists.

"Training and development designed to support the BBC and the wider industry to inform, educate and entertain"

"Checkology’s lessons and other resources show you how to navigate today’s challenging information landscape. You will learn how to identify credible information, seek out reliable sources, and apply critical thinking skills to separate fact-based content from falsehoods."

This organization is dedicated to a new vision of literacy for the 21st Century: the ability to communicate competently in all media forms as well as to access, understand, analyze, evaluate and participate with powerful images, words and sounds that make up our contemporary mass media culture.

"We provide data journalists with free resources, materials, online video courses and community forums. Once you sign in, you can enroll for free into one of our premium online courses or discuss with the community in our forums"

This site provides links to resources focused on educating students about First Amendment rights. Also included is an extensive report studying the knowledge & attitudes of high school students, teachers, and administrators about the first amendment.

"The mission of the Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture, a project of The Norman Lear Center at USC Annenberg, is to investigate and analyze, through research and publication, the conflicting images of the journalist in film, television, radio, fiction, commercials, cartoons, comic books, video games, music, art and other aspects of popular culture demonstrating their impact on the American public's perception of newsgatherers"

This is a nonprofit that convenes transformative conversations to ignite collaboration, innovation, and action.

"A free online resource featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting and recorded sound"

Focusing on the First Amendment and Public Policy Issues this organization publishes books, prepares court briefs, sponsors conferences and luncheons designed to educate journalists and others.

NICAR maintains a library of federal databases, employs journalism students, and trains journalists in the practical skills of getting and analyzing electronic information.

"A free online learning platform that reaches more than 11 million teachers and students around the world. Its unique approach to history, civics and media literacy helps students cultivate the skills needed to make informed decisions in a divided and demanding world."

A free online database covering select topics of interest "devoid of bias". Opposing views on each topic are presented on a pro/con binary fashion.

World101 is a free education portal by the Council on Foreign Relations aimed at fostering an understanding of "issues, forces and actors that shape our world."

Free training resources written by media professionals.

"A network of 13 independent non-profit media research institutes in 11 countries that aims to bridge journalism research and practice in Europe, and to foster professionalism and press freedom."

This professional organization is dedicated to the advancement of visual journalism, its creation, practice, training, editing and distribution, in all news media and works to promote its role as a vital public service.

Founded in 1973 this site provides education and information about photojournalism.

This organization's "mission is to encourage high professional standards in photojournalism and to promote a free and unrestricted exchange of information. World Press Photo aims to support professional press photography on a wide international scale."

This library contains digital images uploaded by Archive users which range from maps to astronomical imagery to photographs of artwork. Many of these images are available for free download

Items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.

"Celebrating creativity and promoting a positive culture by spotlighting the best sides of humanity—from the lighthearted and fun to the thought-provoking and enlightening."

Contains compelling photography and videography "tips, techniques and tools" that would resonate with both amateurs and professionals. Print copies available in Parks Library, Call #: TR267 P371

Detailed reports by the Center For Innovation and Sustainability in Local Media focused on revamping the growth and sustainability of local news.

The State of the News Media is an annual report on the health and status of American journalism produced by Pew Project For Excellence In Journalism.

"....is a national service program that places journalists into local newsrooms to report on under-covered issues and communities."

American Press Institute links, research, and resources.

Columbia Journalism Review’s mission is to encourage and stimulate excellence in journalism in the service of a free society. It is both a watchdog and a friend of the press in all its forms, from newspapers to magazines to radio, television, and the Web.

A media watch group that has offered documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986

Comments concerning the community of innovative journalism.

Founded in 1975 and dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting.

Presented by the Society of Professional Journalists.

This journal presents articles about "the full range of journalistic issues in all media, but with a particular emphasis on the Internet." Topics include the rise of blogs, participatory journalism, libel, ethics, technology innovations, etc.

Sponsored by the Poynter Institute for Media Studies.

Seeks to "expose abuses of power and betrayals of the public trust by government, business, and other institutions, using the moral force of investigative journalism to spur reform through the sustained spotlighting of wrongdoing"

Providing links to many current blogs about journalism.

A free bi-monthly magazine in circulation since 1969.

"...an investigative watchdog and journalism project committed to holding the powerful interests that undermine our democracy accountable."

This rich resource is a treasure trove of curated websites. Even though the site is no longer updated after the project folded a couple of years ago, a lot can still be discovered from it.

It aims "to change the national conversation around poverty and economic instability" through journalism that "puts a human face on financial instability"

"GroundTruth’s mission is to serve under-covered communities by supporting the next generation of journalists to do on-the-ground reporting and to advance sustainability, innovation and equity in journalism worldwide."

"The SPJ Code of Ethics is a statement of abiding principles supported by additional explanations and position papers that address changing journalistic practices. It is not a set of rules, rather a guide that encourages all who engage in journalism to take responsibility for the information they provide, regardless of medium. The code should be read as a whole; individual principles should not be taken out of context."

An annual event that brings industry leaders in Journalism & Mass Communication, Advertising and Public Relations to campus to share their experience and network advise with the students. It's hosted by the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication.

A site that curates scholarly studies and reports on current topics, helping journalists find background information on these topics. Created by Harvard Kennedy School’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy,

Founded to promote fairness and accuracy in reporting about religion.

Resources and training for reporters covering complex business and economic issues.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.