Through Iowa State University, employees have access to the LinkedIn Learning video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. Anyone with an ISU Net-ID has free and unlimited access to LinkedIn Learning. For technical assistance, please contact Learning and Development at uhrlearn@iastate.edu.
"Director Tom McCarthy ... delivers an appreciative bouquet to traditional "accountability" journalism. Based on the true story of the Pultzer-winning investigative reporting team at the Boston Globe who exposed the rampant sexual abuse and extensive cover-up within the Boston Catholic archdiocese."
"When D.C. reporter Cal McCaffrey is assigned to investigate the murder of an assistant to an up-and-coming politician, he uncovers a conspiracy that threatens to bring down the nation's power structures...."
"In the early 1950's, the threat of Communism created an air of paranoia in the United States and exploiting those fears was Senator Joseph McCarthy of Wisconsin. However, CBS reporter Edward R. Murrow and his producer Fred W. Friendly decided to take a stand and challenge McCarthy and expose him for the fear monger he was. However, their actions took a great personal toll on both men, but they stood by their convictions and helped to bring down one of the most controversial senators in American history."
"...Philip Seymour Hoffman does a star turn as the writer Truman Capote as he undertakes the reporting that turned into the non-fiction novel In Cold Blood."
"The sad, miserable story of some guy ... who bamboozled his editors at The New Republic for an unforgivably long time. The guy's story pitches were too good to be true."
"Featuring Peter Finch for his memorable freak-out live on television, urging viewers to join him in ranting: I'm mad as hell and I'm not going to take it anymore!"
This is nearly a two-decade catalog of TV footage from the CBS News archives. Contains 3,466 videos and about 350 hours of episodes. Content include investigative reports, interviews, feature segments and profiles of people who made the news. Each video includes closed captions and searchable transcripts.
A collection of online videos for the study of American history. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs footage, and documentaries. Accessibility: Films include closed captions and searchable transcripts.
Docuseek2 streams independent, social-issue and environmental films from a wide variety of documentary filmmakers. It includes films publishers such as Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films. Many films in this collection are subtitled in English, as the original film is not in English. A small percentage of films include closed captions.
This streaming video collection provides more than 1000 award-winning documentaries in the social sciences, humanities, & sciences. Strong coverage for the social sciences, humanities, and some science content as well. Films include closed captions and searchable transcripts.
This streaming video collection provides educational and documentary films, television news programs, and more from a wide variety of film producers. Strong coverage for the social sciences, humanities, and some science content as well. Films include closed captions. Films on Demand tutorial
A streaming media service that offers award-winning collections including films from BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, PBS and more. Includes documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Creating a personal account is not required with this resource.
These videos "are obtained from Vimeo, MVGroup, Youtube and other sources in the public domain. They may include their imbedded publicity. These are top quality videos in English and all very carefully chosen by our team to ensure a high level of interest in the subject matter and excellent quality of the documentaries themselves."
