Journalism & Communication Research Guide

"Protecting free speech means protecting a free press, the democratic process, diversity of thought, and so much more. The ACLU has worked since 1920 to ensure that freedom of speech is protected for everyone"

A human rights organization dedicated to defending and promoting freedom of expression and freedom of information worldwide.

"The Bill of Rights Institute is a civic education organization with a network of over 50,000 history and civics educators, thousands of classroom-ready history and civics resources and annual student and teacher programming."

"CFAS provides programs designed to educate students about their First Amendment heritage, its impact on new technologies, and to encourage faculty members to do original research on freedom of expression."

Contains information on how to file FOIA request, how to file a Privacy Act request etc.

An independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting freedom of the press world wide by defending the right of journalists to report the news without fear of punishment.

"New technology offers the promise of speech with minimal barriers and without borders. The Internet has radically enhanced our ability to express ourselves and our ability to access, archive, and share information. Everyone should be able to take advantage of this promise."

Works towards invigorating "the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints"

"It is dedicated solely to advancing an understanding of, and offering means to counter, threats to the stability and legitimacy of democratic governments exacerbated by the unregulated growth of digital media and other technological changes in mass communication."

This site provides access to comprehensive research covering key First Amendment issues and topics. Included is commentary and analysis by legal specialists as well as a library of related legal cases and materials.

"FAC is an award-winning nonprofit dedicated to advancing free speech, open government and public participation in civic affairs."

"The Mission of the First Amendment Museum is to inspire US to 'Live Our Freedoms” by understanding and using our First Amendment rights to advance democracy so that all reap the benefits."

"First Amendment Watch is an online news and educational resource for journalists, educators and students. Our goal is to increase civic engagement by providing the tools for citizens of all ages to better understand their rights and freedoms."

Launched by eBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar, First Look "Media is built on the belief that freedom of expression and of the press, and fiercely independent perspectives, are vital to a healthy democracy and a vibrant culture."

"FIRE's mission is to defend and sustain the individual rights of students and faculty members at America’s colleges and universities. These rights include freedom of speech, freedom of association, due process, legal equality, religious liberty, and sanctity of conscience — the essential qualities of liberty."

"The organization works to preserve and strengthen First and Fourth Amendment rights guaranteed to the press through a variety of avenues, including the development of encryption tools, documentation of attacks on the press, training newsrooms on digital security practices, and advocating for the public’s right to know."

"The First Amendment guarantees all individuals the right to express their ideas without governmental interference, and to read and listen to the ideas of others. The Freedom to Read Foundation was established to promote and defend this right; to foster libraries as institutions wherein every individual's First Amendment freedoms are fulfilled; and to support the right of libraries to include in their collections and make available any work which they may legally acquire."

"...a nonpartisan, nonprofit public policy center dedicated to building understanding of the five freedoms of the First Amendment through education, information and engagement. It does not participate in litigation or lobbying

"Free speech is the bedrock on which all our other freedoms rest, yet it is currently in greater peril than at any time since the Second World War. The Free Speech Union is a non-partisan, mass-membership public interest body that stands up for the speech rights of its members."

"Heterodox Academy is a group of 5,000+ professors, administrators, K-12 educators, staff & students who believe diverse viewpoints & open inquiry are critical to research & learning"

"The Knight First Amendment Institute defends the freedoms of speech and the press in the digital age through strategic litigation, research, and public education"

"....one of the country’s leading non-partisan organizations that focuses on the First Amendment and communications policy"

"Free and open discourse is essential to the mission of higher education. The Center explores how the fundamental democratic and academic principles of free speech and civic engagement should enrich the discovery and transmission of knowledge in America’s colleges and universities...."

Coalition of 50 nonprofit organizations representing the artistic, educational, religious, and labor communities, that have joined together in the interest of protecting First Amendment rights.

"The National Constitution Center unites America’s leading scholars from diverse legal and philosophical perspectives to explore the text, history, and meaning of the U.S. Constitution"

"Free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone"

"PEN America stands at the intersection of literature and human rights to protect free expression in the United States and worldwide. We champion the freedom to write, recognizing the power of the word to transform the world."

This organization provides free legal help to reporters and news organizations. On the website you can access important information resources such as the First Amendment Handbook and the Guide to Journalist Shield Laws.

This site provides resources about Freedom of Information (FOI) laws and how to submit requests.

Founded in 1972 this organization their mission is to insure that freedom of the press means that all people; rich and poor, male and female, have an equal opportunity to speak directly to the public about their own issues and concerns.

A more comprehensive guide containing First Amendment resources

This organization provides free legal help to reporters and news organizations. On the website you can access important information resources such as the First Amendment Handbook and the Guide to Journalist Shield Laws.

This site provides information for journalists who cover the federal court system.

A United States Courts site with landmark Supreme Court cases that can be applied to contemporary scenarios related to "the five pillars of the First Amendment and your rights to freedom of religion, speech, press, assembly and petition"

This is a general research guide containing legal resources.