Journalism & Communication Research Guide

• Credo Reference: Academic Core Collection This link opens in a new window

  This is a good starting place for term papers - to get a basic overview of almost any topic. It also includes short videos and high-resolution art images across all subject areas. Results link out to content in other databases provided by the ISU Library.

• The World Almanac and Book of Facts, 2018 (Online)

  The 2018 issue runs a special feature celebrating The World Almanac's historic run including highlights from its distinguished past and some old-fashioned "facts," illustrating how its defining mission has changed with the times. Concerning "Historical Anniversaries", The World Almanac's recurring feature expands to incorporate milestone events and cultural touchstones dating to the book's founding year, from the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson to the publication of Little Women. It also has "Statistical Spotlight" - a new feature that highlights statistics relevant to the biggest stories of the year. The data visualizations provide important context and new perspectives to give readers a fresh angle on important issues. The 1,007-page volume also has content such as: "2017 Top 10 News Topics", "The Obama Presidency", "The World at a Glance", "The Year in Review", and "2017 Year in Pictures", among others.

• Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window

  Reference source especially strong in the arts and humanities; also covers science, technology, and social/behavioral sciences.
  
• Encyclopædia Britannica - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window

  The full-text version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, with special features such as guides to subjects, time lines, and a country comparison feature.

• Bacon's Magazine Directory: Magazines and Newletters, 48th Ed. - 2000 (Internet Archive)

  Scroll to the bottom of the page to find related directories. You may need to set up an account on Internet Archive to access the material for free. A newer print edition, 59th (2011), is available in the library's Reference Section. You can find it using the Call Number: Z286 P4 B33.

• The Best American Newspaper Narratives (Series)

  Collections of "some of the best newspaper narrative writing contests across America."
• The Best American Magazine Writing (Series)

  Features a selection of outstanding journalism on timely topics covering a wide range of subjects.
• The Year's Best Sports Writing (Series)

  "Selected from a wide range of newspapers, magazines, and digital publications during the previous year, these stories capture enduring moments while celebrating the craft of writing at its most sublime"