#bz-promo-widget .bz-titlebar { background-color: #6A7A1A !important; } Skip to Main Content

Journalism & Communication Research Guide

This is a general Libguide for students, faculty and staff at The Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication

Some Titles Through The ISU Digital Press

Newspaper Circulation

Freeing Scholarly Knowledge

Athena Unbound by Peter Baldwin
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 9780262048002

Publication Date: 2023-03-28

What is Open Access?

Sample of Open Access Titles

Russia, Disinformation, and the Liberal Order

Derivative Media: How Wall Street Devours Culture

Islamic State, Media, and Propaganda

Mortevivum: Photography and the politics of the visual

Producing Feminism

Some Open Access Platforms

Knowledge Unlatched
"...makes scholarly content freely available to everyone and contributes to the further development of the Open Access infrastructure."
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.
Luminos
"Luminos is University of California Press’ Open Access publishing program for monographs. With the same high standards for selection, peer review, production and marketing as our traditional program, Luminos is a transformative model, built as a partnership where costs and benefits are shared."
OASIS
An integrated search tool by SUNY. Contains over 300,000 records
Direct to Open (D2O) - MIT
"D2O harnesses the collective power of libraries to support open and equitable access to vital, leading scholarship."
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection
University of Michigan Press eBook collection filtered by Open Access.
Bloomsbury Collection (Open Access)
Covers many disciplines. Use the subject filter to browse and access titles.
OER Metafinder
"The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) links to a wide array of open content, including open access books and articles"
Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books .... The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards"
OER Commons
The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.

JSTOR: Open Content
This is a subset of the full JSTOR collection, limited to content found in the JSTOR Open Collection, all free to use. The ever-expanding JSTOR: Open Content offerings include full-text e-journals, journal articles, images, eBooks, book chapters, research reports, and curated resources from partner institutions’ digital repositories and collections.

Open Book Publishers
"Our books are published in hardback, paperback and ebook editions, but we also publish free online editions of every title in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read via our website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere."
WAC Clearinghouse (Books & Journals)
"The WAC Clearinghouse is an open-access, educational website supported by more than 150 contributors, institutional sponsors, and the Colorado State University Open Press as well as more than 180 volunteer editors, editorial staff members, reviewers, and editorial board members."
Google Books
You can also use Google Books to look for free online books or sale copies of e-books. Non-copyrighted materials are the obvious strength of their collections.
Liverpool University Press (Open Access Books & Journals)

Sample of OA Journals

Open Access Data Journalism Titles

The Data Journalism Handbook 1
The Data Journalism Handbook 2
The Data Journalism Handbook by Liliana Bounegru (Editor) & Jonathan Gray (Editor)
ISBN: 9462989516

Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Teaching Data and Computational Journalism (Columbia Journalism School) (PDF) by Berret, Charles & Phillips, Cheryl
ISBN: 9780692637456

Publication Date: 2016
Derivative Media by Andrew deWaard
ISBN: 9780520392472

Publication Date: 2024-09-03
Islamic State, Media, and Propaganda
ISBN: 9781035336227

Open Scholarship Services

This ISU Library site has information about:

ISU Digital Press
Open Publishing
Open Access Agreements

More Open Access Titles

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Almost 16,000 journals are indexed in DOAJ. They cover all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities. Since many of the titles are in languages other than English, you may want to use the "Languages" filter.
Berghahn Journals
A collection of peer-reviewed open access journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Open Library of Humanities (OLH) Journals
"Each journal that we publish has been evaluated for the rigour of its content, the international standing of its authors and editorial board, and the value to its disciplinary field."
Open Access Journals Through Browzine
Free, Open Access content available in Browzine.

The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2025 1:52 PM
URL: https://instr.iastate.libguides.com/JLMC
Print Page

Subjects: Journalism & Mass Communication

Tags: advertising, communication, first amendment, journalism, mass_media, media, news, newspapers, public_relations, theses