Open Educational Resources (OER)

Find OER "from leading colleges and universities" in disciplines including Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, and Social & Behavioral Sciences. From UMass Amherst.

A collection of eight ECE course textbooks available in both English and Spanish. College of the Canyons in California provided the English textbooks used for translation and shared as a Spanish collection on this site.

Ed Tech Books is a site that provides free access to textbooks for topics in Education, "because knowledge should be free, and educational technology should lead the way!"

This book was written to provide students with an introduction to the field of education. The book is broken into chapters that focus on questions students may have about education in general. Although some chapters may go into more depth than others, this is created as an introductory text.

This dynamic and equity-focused Open Educational Resource serves as a multifaceted textbook for Foundations of Education courses in post secondary institutions.

This book is intended to serve as a resource for novice teachers as they master the art of effective classroom management, assessment, and lesson planning. At the undergraduate level, this book is designed to accompany the instruction in the EDUC 4353: Secondary Teaching Methods & Practices course before the full-internship experience.

The book supports a speaking-intensive course that introduces you to key concepts in the study of childhood from multidisciplinary perspectives. Your reading and listening will allow you to examine the historical and socio-cultural constructions of “the child” and childhood.

Welcome to learning about how to effectively plan curriculum for young children. This textbook will address developing curriculum through the planning cycle, theories that inform what we know about how children learn and the best ways for teachers to support learning, the three components of developmentally appropriate practice, and more!

This textbook covers theories, teaching strategies, and instructional materials pertinent to teaching reading and writing in grades PK-3, with an emphasis on integrating reading, writing, speaking, and listening, as well as integration across content areas while addressing diversity and inclusion.

Guided by cultural beliefs and principles, families select experiences, convey attitudes, and impart knowledge to their children to prepare them for adulthood. Accordingly, it is important for program staff to learn to collaborate effectively with families. To develop a partnership and to tap into the family as a primary resource, early childhood educators must reach out to, learn about, and develop strong partnerships with families.

This text compiles six case studies from this model to illustrate how teaching challenges were improved. Appropriate for practiced educators as well as educators in training, this text provides a real world look into applying Learning Standards in early childhood classrooms.

This open textbook was revised in 2018 under a Round Eleven University of Georgia Mini-Grant and explores the topic of various fine arts integrations within elementary curricula. Topics include: Music, Visual Arts, Literary Arts, Performing Arts, and Physical Education and Movement.

This is book is fairly comprehensive and I feel could be used by most foundational courses in elementary mathematics. The structure and writing provide a good foundation for students learning the "why" behind the mathematics and becoming mathematical thinkers.

Co-created with students in the course EDUC 395: Teaching Disciplinary Literacy and supported by CDL experts, this textbook offers accessible, research-based, multidisciplinary CDL strategies ready for implementation in secondary classrooms.

The authors offer both secondary and postsecondary educators in both formal and nonformal educational environments the opportunity to build confidence in planning, delivering, and assessing the depths of the variables inherent in learning.

This material can be used to teach pre-service teachers, in-service teachers, and instructional designers about game-based and adaptive learning. Assessments used in the actual Game-based and Adaptive Learning course are included in the final chapter and serve as recommendations for assessments of the learning outcomes.

This text is a compilation of essays from Canadian graduate students that reflect their growing knowledge about English as an Additional Language (EAL). Most students enrolled in the online course ECUR 415 are practicing teachers who are working toward a Post-Degree Certificate in EAL Education (PDCEAL), while continuing to live and work in various locations both within and outside of the province.

The book provides a window into the vast storehouse of innovations and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America. It is our hope that the Indigenous Science examples, research and curriculum models will inspire deep reflection regarding the under-representation of Aboriginal students in the sciences.

This book provides approaches anyone can use to explore their communities and write about them first-hand. The methods presented can be used for a single assignment in a larger course or to guide an entire semester through many levels and varieties of informed personal writing.

The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when all of us, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology. A framework for making decisions about your teaching is provided.

This book is about teachers who care about students’ learning and are motivated to take risks and actively reflect on how to best facilitate that learning. What is most resonant for me after reading “Innovative Learning and Teaching” is how important relationships and communities are to effective higher education.

Our goal is that students in introductory instructional design courses will be able to use this book as a guide for completing a basic instructional design project. We also hope the book is useful as a ready resource for more advanced students or others seeking to develop their instructional design knowledge and skills.

Instruction in Functional Assessment introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches for identifying the cause of an individual’s challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments.

Instructional Design provides a proven framework to design all types of instruction and these principles can be used to design a “Flipped” course.

This online textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.

The Changing Story gives you assignments, resources, and examples to use in your teaching and learning. It will also help you think of ways digital stories can be used in your teaching, and help students harness the power of visual storytelling.

This collection is everything hopeful about open. It’s the entangled voices that gather in our shared spaces to talk about what’s wrong, and what could be better. We don’t have to agree on what open is. We don’t need a particular license or a common set of resources. What we need is the courage to walk into conversation.

This book represents a starting point towards curating and centering marginal voices and non-dominant epistemic stances in open education. It includes the work of 43 diverse authors whose perspectives challenge the dominant hegemony.