Open Educational Resources (OER)

An open-access platform for anyone who wants to understand the economics of innovation, inequality, environmental sustainability, and more

The Economy is a course in economics. Throughout, we start with a question or a problem about the economy--why the advent of capitalism is associated with a sharp increase in average living standards, for example--and then teach the tools of economics that contribute to an answer.
For each question, the material is in the same sequence. We begin with a historical or current problem, even if it is a complex one, and then we use models to illuminate it.

The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Microeconomics: Markets, Methods, and Models by D.Curtis and I. Irvine provides concise yet complete coverage of introductory microeconomics theory, application and policy. The textbook begins with an explanation and development of the standard tools of analysis in the discipline and carries on to investigate the meaning of ‘well-being’ in the context of an efficient use of the economy’s resources.

A heavily revised version of OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 2nd Edition.

This book covers basic models in current microeconomic theory. It focuses on the concepts of model and equilibrium. It states models and results precisely, and provides proofs for all results. It uses only elementary mathematics (with almost no calculus), although many of the proofs involve sustained logical arguments. It includes about 150 exercises.

This book is based on the idea that there is a particular framework used by economists to interpret observed reality. This framework has been called the economic way of thinking, the economic approach, and the method of economics. The second edition has additional content and updated screenshots and instructions for Excel 2019, but remains compatible with older versions of Excel.

The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

The textbook observes short-run macroeconomic performance, analysis, and policy motivated by the recessions of the early 1980s and 1990s, the financial crisis and recession of 2008-2009, and the prolonged recovery in most industrial countries. A traditional Aggregate Demand and Supply (AD-AS) model is introduced, and a basic modern AD-AS model is developed. Numerical examples, diagrams, and basic algebra are used in combination to illustrate and explain economic relationships.

This text presents a complete and concise examination of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy suitable for a first introductory course. Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era -- financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.

Principles of Macroeconomic Literacy emphasizes basic economic concepts such as value and cost in developing macroeconomic ideas. Besides the economics of Adam Smith, Freidrich Hayek, and Milton Friedman, the text applies the work of James Buchanan in discussing how ideal policies will never be ideally applied by self-interested politicians with limited knowledge.

The purpose of this text is to teach students about alternative schools of economic thought but also to deepen their understanding of the dominant, neoclassical approach to economics. In this sense, it draws a great deal of inspiration from Richard Wolff and Stephen Resnick’s Contending Economic Theories. Following Wolff and Resnick, an even broader objective is to teach students that economics is a discourse and that no single voice can rightfully claim to have a monopoly on the truth about economics.

The Economics of Food and Agricultural Markets is written for applied intermediate microeconomics courses. The book showcases the power of economic principles to explain and predict issues and current events in the food, agricultural, agribusiness, international trade, and natural resource sectors.