Library Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Veterinary Medicine

Veterinary Science Resources

Please note: This is a collection of select materials which serve as examples of OER within this discipline. Consider these "jumping off points" for further review and discovery. Need help finding something for your class? See the Get Support page for more information.

Books from ISU Authors

Topics in Aquatic Animal Health (coming soon!)
Organic and Alternative Livestock Health (coming soon!)

Textbooks and Additional Resources

Introductory Animal Physiology 2nd Edition
This text provides an introduction to the diversity of structure and function in animals at the tissue and organ system level.
Comparative Anatomy and Physiology of Animals
Introductory overview of fundamentals of animal physiology, including the major bodily systems and review.
Well-being Handbook: Help for Thriving in Veterinary School
This book is a resource for veterinary students at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, but can be adapted for other institutions.
eClinPath
The goal of this site is to be an educational resource on veterinary clinical pathology. We hope this will be a valuable resource, as are the several available paper textbooks on this discipline. The site contains sections on Hematology, Hemostasis, Urinalysis, Chemistry, Cytology, and more! Check out the Diagnostic Challenge section for case studies and examples.
A Guide to the Principles of Animal Nutrition
This book entitled “A Guide to Principles of Animal Nutrition” consists of 20 chapters. As the name says, this book is a guide primarily meant to serve students taking animal nutrition courses at the university level and is not a full-scale animal nutrition text. Information digestive anatomy and processes provide the foundation to understand how animals utilize nutrients.
Veterinary Preventive Medicine
A handbook on preventative veterinary medicine from the University of Minnesota.
Veterinary Histology
Veterinary Histology is a microscopic anatomy textbook focused on domestic species, including the dog, cat, cattle, horses, swine, and camelids.
Swine Diseases
This e-book was written to serve as a support for the teaching of the course CVM 6969: Large Animal Medicine III at the University of Minnesota.

Laboratory Materials and Notes

Clinical Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
This book is aimed to guide the pre-clinical veterinary student through basic patient-side diagnostic testing procedures that accompany the in-person laboratory course.
Clinical Medicine 1: Laboratory Manual
This laboratory manual is for use in the VETM 3430 (Clinical Medicine 1) small animal section, focusing largely on dogs. You will be working in groups during these laboratory exercises. At least one group member should have access to the notes during the lab, and electronic copies will be easiest as videos are sometimes used within the notes to show specific skills.
Large Animal Surgery – Supplemental Notes
This textbook includes basic principles of large animal surgery and anesthesia, how to apply those principles to cases and situations, and discover ways of finding answers when you don’t remember the information, are presented with cases that aren’t “textbook” and/or things don’t go as planned.

Interactive Materials

Cells and Smears: Veterinary Clinical Pathology Digital Database
This website is intended as an easily accessible online database of cell pathology images to complement textbooks and lecture material for veterinary clinical pathology students.
Small Animal Handling Videos
A series of high quality animal handling videos, focused on the handling of dogs. Created by Brian Mather and teaching staff at the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.
The Normal Canine (Video Series)
This series of four videos are intended for first-year students of veterinary medicine and include four canine exams: head and neck, thoracic, abdominal, and urogenital exams.

Abbey Elder

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Research & Publication, Sociology