Open Educational Resources (OER)

Based on Stanford University’s wildly popular Understand Energy course, the Learning Hub offers up to date content on energy resources, impacts, management, and use. Faculty are invited to incorporate content from the Learning Hub into their courses.

Introduction to Engineering is a free, online textbook designed to provide students with a comprehensive understanding of the fundamental concepts of engineering. The textbook is organized into three main modules: Units and Conversions, Excel, and MATLAB Programming.

Created in Jupyter Notebooks, these modules' target audience is first-year engineering students, but the course would be equally useful to students in any science or technology field.

This text covers the basic concepts of fracture mechanics for both the linear elastic and elastic-plastic regimes.

This textbook provides an introduction to the MATLAB programming language for first-year mechanical engineering students enrolled in ME 160, Mechanical Engineering Problem Solving with Computer Applications.

This book is designed to introduce the SolidWorks software as well as provide tutorials for modeling parts, assemblies, and completing drawings from the mechanical designer’s perspective. It is also designed to prepare students for earning the SolidWorks Associate Certificate.

The chapters in this book give an overview of the modeling tools used by technologists in industry to create parametric models of mechanical parts.

Introduction to Drafting and AutoCAD 2D was written as a tool to guide and teach you to master AutoCAD through competency-based modules. The competency-based modules are bite-size pieces that allow you to work at your own pace.

This book is a tool to guide and teach you to master AutoCAD 3D. No two students learn at the same pace, therefore the book was written with competency-based modules.

Fundamentals of Aerospace Engineering covers an undergraduate, introductory course to aeronautical engineering and aims at combining theory and practice to provide a comprehensive, thorough introduction to the fascinating, yet complex discipline of aerospace engineering.

This book provides an introduction to the discipline of aerospace structures and materials. It is the first book to date that includes all relevant aspects of this discipline within a single monologue. These aspects range from materials, manufacturing and processing techniques, to structures, design principles and structural performance, including aspects like durability and safety.

Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance, 3rd edition is a college undergraduate-level introduction to aircraft aerodynamics and performance. This text is designed for a course in Aircraft Performance that is taught before the students have had any course in fluid mechanics, fluid dynamics, or aerodynamics.

Aerospace Structures by Eric Raymond Johnson is a 600+ page text and reference book for junior, senior, and graduate-level aerospace engineering students.

This text was developed as one of a series of three handbooks for persons preparing for mechanic certification with airframe or powerplant ratings, or both. It is intended that this handbook will provide basic information on principles, fundamentals, and technical procedures in the subject matter areas common to both the airframe and powerplant ratings.

This text is one of a series of three handbooks for persons preparing for certification as an airframe or powerplant mechanic.

This text is one of a series of three handbooks for persons preparing for certification as a powerplant mechanic.

This book is written as a series of stand-alone chapters organized under six major topics: Food and Bioprocessing; Environment; Buildings and Infrastructure; Information and Communications Technology and Data; Machinery Systems; and Energy. Each chapter is organized around stated learning outcomes and describes key concepts, applications of the concepts, and worked examples.

Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.

The goal of this textbook is to introduce you to the foundational topics of chemical engineering. This textbook will give you a good basic understanding of a number of chemical engineering concepts, which you can take with you as you progress in your engineering degree and career.

Educational Resources for Chemical Engineering from Colorado Boulder. Includes screencasts, simulations, and other resources.

This book is intended to be used as the primary text for a technical elective course in an undergraduate or graduate electrical engineering curriculum.

The lab manual was written as the first installment that coincides with two lab courses taught at the University of Oklahoma (BME3171, BME3181). The following topics are covered: functional human models, musculoskeletal lever systems, bioimaging (ultrasound), bioelectricity (electromyography), & uni-axial testing.

The lab manual was written as the second installment that coincides with two lab courses taught at the University of Oklahoma (BME3171, BME3181). It covers the following topics: bioimaging, cell culture, tissue engineering, live-dead and DNA assays.

Structural Analysis by Felix Udeyo is intended to teach students the methods and techniques for the analysis of structures. This textbook is designed for upper-level undergraduates studying civil engineering, construction engineering and management, and architecture. It is also useful for construction professionals seeking licensure in their field of practice.

This book offers a web-based multimedia platform to enable students in Architecture, Civil Engineering, and Construction Engineering to learn fundamentals of BIM using Revit and be able to create building architectural, mechanical and structural models, develop construction documentation and analyze building performance.

This book provides an introduction, at academic level, into the field of surveying and mapping, covering a wide range of measurement techniques, from land surveying, GPS/GNSS and remote sensing to the associated data processing, the underlying coordinate reference systems, as well as the analysis and visualization of the acquired geospatial information.

The text draws examples and discusses a wide variety of infrastructure systems, including roadways, telecommunications, power generation, buildings and systems of infrastructure. This book grew out of a decade of co-teaching a course entitled ‘Infrastructure Management’ at Carnegie Mellon University.

This free electrical engineering/technology textbook provides a series of chapters covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for students, makers, and professionals who are looking for an application-centric coverage of this field.

A free series of textbooks on the subjects of electricity and electronics.

Electromagnetics is intended for electrical engineering students in the third year of a bachelor of science degree program. It is intended as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics.

Fundamentals of Microwave and RF Design enables mastery of the essential concepts required to cross the barriers to a successful career in microwave and RF design. Extensive treatment of scattering parameters, that naturally describe power flow, and of Smith-chart-based design procedures prepare the student for success.

Tutorial videos on signal processing and random signals from UMass Dartmouth's ECE 320 and ECE 521 courses.

Welcome to the second edition of Semiconductor Devices, an open educational resource (OER). The goal of this text, as its name implies, is to allow the reader to become proficient in the analysis and design of circuits utilizing discrete semiconductor devices. It progresses from basic diodes through bipolar and field effect transistors. The text is intended for use in a first or second year course on semiconductors at the Associate or Baccalaureate level.

This manual contains sufficient exercises for two 15 week courses using a two to three hour practicum period. It assumes familiarity with basic electrical circuit analysis techniques and theorems. The topics cover basic diodes through DC biasing and AC analysis of small signal bipolar and FET amplifiers along with class A and B large signal analysis. For equipment, each lab station should include a dual adjustable DC power supply, a dual trace oscilloscope, a function generator and a quality DMM. Some exercises also make use of a distortion analyzer and a low distortion generator (generally, THD below 0.01%), although these portions may be bypassed.

Open Signals and Systems Laboratory Exercises is a collection of lab assignments that have been used in EE 224: Signals and Systems I in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University. These lab exercises have been curated, edited, and presented in a consistent format to improve student learning.

A total of 10 lab exercises with various ancillary materials have been developed under this project: Using LTSpice; Instrumentation; Operational Amplifiers; Differentiator, Integrator, and PWM; Diode Characteristics; Rectifiers & Regulators; MOSFET Behavior; CMOS Inverter & Amplifier; BJT Characteristic; BJT Amplifiers

This text serves to provide a brief overview of some of the myriad of topics available for study in the field of Materials Science. This is meant as an introduction to the topic for entry-level undergraduates who want to pursue a career studying materials.

This interdisciplinary textbook supports the Impact of Materials on Society course and teaching materials, developed with the Materials Research Society. The textbook offers an exploration into materials (including ceramics, clay, concrete, glass, metals, and polymers) and the relationship with technologies and social structures.

This methodical manual focuses on a small aspect of calculations in thermal analysis dealing with constructing kinetic models from thermogravimetry and differential scanning calorimetry experimental data.

This is a calculus-based book meant for the first semester of a first year survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors.

This text combines two core engineering science courses, “Statics” and “Strength of Materials," weaving together various essential topics to discuss structural design from the very beginning. The traditional content of these courses are reordered to make it convenient to cover rigid body equilibrium and extend it to deformable body mechanics.

This electronic book (e-book) is created with partial financial support from a grant generously provided by the Miller Open Education Mini-Grant Program expressly for use in the Iowa State course, M E 370: Engineering Measurements.

A collection of readings and exercises aligned with the course, ME 270, Introduction to Mechanical Engineering Design, at Iowa State University. This course provides an overview of mechanical engineering design with applications to thermal and mechanical systems, and an introduction to current design practices used in industry.

This introduction to heat and mass transfer, oriented toward engineering students, may be downloaded without charge. The ebook is fully illustrated, typeset in searchable pdf format, with internal and external links.
Please note that this material is copyrighted and not a "true" OER. The authors grant you the right to download and print it for your personal use or for non-profit instructional use.

This Simulator laboratory (SIMLAB) book was created to provide ancillary resources for Thermodynamics and Thermal Power Plant Simulator courses. It is intended to act as a collection of exercises to help our students merge the theory covered in the classroom with the practice performed in the labs.

The material in these lecture notes is used in a junior- and senior-level course at MIT’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, entitled Design of Electromechanical Robotic Systems. The key ingredient in this course - and what differentiates it from many other related courses - is the uncertainty that is encountered whenever a built system is actually installed in the field. The goal is to provide fundamental relations useful for modeling and creating systems that have to operate with uncertainty.

This book was created for an undergraduate Introduction to Industrial Engineering course at The University of Texas at Arlington (UTA). The chapters give an overview of the profession and an introduction to some of the tools used by industrial engineers in industry. There are interactive content exercises included at the end of most chapters.

This set of chapters and additional resources has been compiled to support a course on manufacturing engineering and product design.

The fundamental goal of this text is to show how discrete event simulation can be used in addition to lean thinking to achieve greater benefits in system improvement than with lean alone. Realizing this goal requires learning the problems that simulation solves as well as the methods required to solve them.

Engineering Statics is a free, open-source textbook appropriate for anyone who wishes to learn more about vectors, forces, moments, static equilibrium, and the properties of shapes. Specifically, it has been written to be the textbook for Engineering Mechanics: Statics, the first course in the Engineering Mechanics series offered in most university-level engineering programs.

Introduction to engineering mechanics: statics, for those who love to learn. Concepts include: particles and rigid body equilibrium equations, distributed loads, shear and moment diagrams, trusses, method of joints and sections, & inertia.