Library Guides: Education Research Guide: Finding Articles

Quick Search

You can use Quick Search to find a quick list of resources on education topics.

ISU Library Quick Search
Limiting to Articles

Using Quick Search's Advanced Search, enter your search terms, choose Articles with the Material Type drop-down menu and set other drop-downs as necessary, then search.

Be aware though that Quick Search does not include everything. If you need to do comprehensive research on an education topic or compile an authoritative set of education research articles, choose one or several of the education-focused indexes listed on this page.

New York Times: ISU access

Access to New York Times is available to ISU members who create a free account using their iastate.edu email address. Once registered, log in to access the NYT. In addition to 24/7 breaking news, you will also have access to:

Archives - dating back to 1851
Virtual Reality app - allows viewing select content in 3D with a VR viewer
Daily 360 content - two-dimensional, 360° views
Podcasts - including our new "Daily" podcast
Video content
Newsletters - in a variety of topics you may subscribe to

You will also have access to the New York Times in Education website and its contents:

Selected Discipline-specific areas of study
Classroom discussion prompts
Suggested learning outcomes
General Instructional Strategies to promote student achievement
Co-Curricular Activities, including events, discussions, and contests

To gain entry to the NYT in Education site, complete a short registration here. Be sure to use your ISU email address.

Finding Articles - Education Indexes

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This index provides full-text articles from over 350 education research journals dating back to 1996, in addition to providing article citations from more than 770 journals dating back to 1983.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) - EBSCOhost Access This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is a comprehensive index of education literature and resources, containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

ERIC contains two types of records: those labeled EJ ("J" is for journal articles) and those labeled ED, which are ERIC Documents (non-peer reviewed documents, reports, lesson plans, etc.). Some, but not all materials are available full-text via ERIC - these are indicated by a Full Text from ERIC link or the PDF link below the item's brief record, seen in the ED example below. Journal articles (EJ items) are often available full-text through ERIC or via our GetIt@ISU button. If you're unable to find a full-text version of a resource, you may be able to use Interlibrary Loan to gain access.

two articles from ERIC. One article contains a number at the end of the line with publication record information that begins with EJ. Then second article has a number than begs with ED. There are arrows on the image pointing to each instance.

ERIC: Non-Journal Sources
In addition, here's a browsable listing of ERIC's many ED (non-journal) sources, which includes such things as important research centers, governmental sources, agencies, and other entities providing reports and other materials. (The search box will also include journal articles in its results.)

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The primary focus of this index is teacher education. It provides indexing for 280 scholarly peer-reviewed research journals. It includes some full text articles (linked full text, pdfs, etc) and articles you can search via GetIt@ISU. Use Interlibrary Loan for any items you need that the library doesn't own.

Finding Articles - Other Indexes

Articles & Databases
Interdisciplinary topic? You may want to choose one or two subject-focused indexes in another discipline. Check our list here. You can browse by subject or if you know the index you want, find it on the A-Z. A few useful indexes are listed below. (Note this is the Library's new, more intuitive list of our indexes.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Another good choice for finding a quick set of articles or information on your topic. If you are off campus, be sure to use Scholar settings to sync your search results with ISU Library article holdings.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Literature in psychology and related disciplines. About 90% of the articles are peer-reviewed; also includes book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.

Need it delivered?

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
Need an article or book we don't own? This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials we don't own, and to have these materials delivered to you. You can even request materials we DO own but you need to have delivered to you. Use the ILLiad online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you. Use your ISUNetID to login to the online request form!

Your Librarian

Rano Marupova

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library

(515) 294-7129

Subjects: Education, Information Literacy, Teaching & Classroom Support

BrowZine

Libkey Nomad

Add the LibKey Nomad browser extension to get access to full text of journals ISU owns.

Installation

Installing LibKey Nomad is simple. Start with the link below to download the extension:

Download LibKey Nomad
Follow this link and choose your browser to add the LibKey Nomad extension.

Once you have added LibKey Nomad to your browser, make sure to set your institution to Iowa State University.

For more information, see the guide for LibKey Nomad.