Library Guides: Education Research Guide: Social Justice

Need it delivered?

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
Need an article or book we don't own? This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials we don't own, and to have these materials delivered to you. You can even request materials we DO own but you need to have delivered to you. Use the ILLiad online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you. Use your ISUNetID to login to the online request form!

In addition to the core education databases listed on the Finding Articles page, these tools focus on social justice issues.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This major index is a good place to start for topics such as education and social justice issues; race, ethnicity, and LGBT issues; social structure; poverty, and more.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Index to articles appearing in the alternative, radical, and independent press and publications. Many articles are available full-text; use Interlibrary Loan to request others if not owned by ISU Library.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
This index helps you find citations to journal articles, reports, documents and books pertaining to North American Indians. Areas of focus include education, tribal college issues, contemporary American Indian issues, plus anthropology, history and cultures.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
BSC provides scholarly essays, historical newspapers, and an index for finding full-text journal articles focused on all aspects of African American and Black studies worldwide. Use the "Journals" link to access the searchable index.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
This large international periodical index provides access to social sciences and humanities research on Latin America and US Latinos. Primary focus is on Latin America - for research on US Latino topics, you'll need to limit your search as follows: Click Advanced search, then select Yes to limit (see image below). Most articles are in Spanish, English, or Portuguese; coverage is 1970-present.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts and, in many cases, the full text of articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 journals, and also provides abstracts of books and book chapters.

Charleston Syllabus by Chad Williams (Editor); Kidada E. Williams (Editor); Keisha N. Blain (Editor)
Call Number: E184 A1 C4445 2016
ISBN: 9780820349565
Publication Date: 2016-05-15
"Immediately after the mass killings at Emanuel AME Church on June 17,2015, in Charleston, South Carolina, social media exploded with attempts to make sense of the event. The Twitter hashtag #charlestonsyllabus quickly emerged as the central resource for help in learning how the tragedy fit into the tumultuous history of race relations-not only in the United States but globally. This reader collects some of the best writings to be recommended and debated using the Charleston Syllabus hashtag." (Description from Book jacket.)

Charlottesville Syllabus
"The Charlottesville Syllabus is a resource created by the Graduate Student Coalition for Liberation to be used to educate readers about the long history of white supremacy in Charlottesville, Virginia. With resources selected and summaries written by UVa graduate students, this abridged version of the Syllabus is organized into six sections that offer contemporary and archival primary and secondary sources (articles, books, responses, a documentary, databases) and a list of important terms for discussing white supremacy." (Description from their website)
Black Lives Matter Syllabus
"#blacklivesmatter has emerged in recent years as a movement committed to resisting, unveiling, and undoing histories of state sanctioned violence against black and brown bodies."

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library

(515) 294-7129

Subjects: Education, Information Literacy, Teaching & Classroom Support