Library Guides: Education Research Guide: Early Childhood & K-12

Need it delivered?

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
Need an article or book we don't own? This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials we don't own, and to have these materials delivered to you. You can even request materials we DO own but you need to have delivered to you. Use the ILLiad online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you. Use your ISUNetID to login to the online request form!

Finding Early Childhood and K-12 Articles and Materials

In addition to the core education databases listed on the Finding Articles page, these tools focus on early childhood and K-12 education issues and materials.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides "references to current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through young adults, age 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year."

Children's Best Books and Media Lists

ALSC Book & Media Awards
Numerous book and media awards such as Caldecott, Newberry, Pura Belpré, and many others can be found here. From the Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) branch of the American Library Association.
Children's Choices Reading List
From the International Reading Association.
Children's Notable Lists
Annual awards list from the American Library Association includes notable books, recordings, and videos for children.
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Annual awards list of African American and African-themed books for children and young adults. Sponsored by the EMIERT branch of the American Library Association.
International Children's Digital Library
Good collection of children's books available online. Includes colorful search and browse features. Books can be read online or found in libraries.
Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People
From the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS). Some recent content is available to NCSS members only.
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Children K-12
From the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA).
Pura Belpré Award
Best Latino and Latin American-themed books for children and young adults. Sponsored by the American Library Association in honor of Puerto Rican NYC librarian Pura Belpré.

Your Librarian

Rano Marupova

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library

(515) 294-7129

Subjects: Education, Information Literacy, Teaching & Classroom Support