Education Research Guide

A data library for developmental scientists to securely store, manage, share, discover, and reuse research data, including videos, audio files, procedures and stimuli, and related metadata.

Search 38 different data repositories containing environmental science data sets

An incomplete but broad index of datasets from open repositories.

An open data repository operated by Harvard and used by individuals and publishers to host data. Deposit and access are free, also serves as Harvard's institutional repository.

Links to datasets on census, consumer behavior, health and retirement, and children's issues.

Data Resource Center (DRC) uses the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN) to share children's health data.

Includes ECLS-K:2011 Kindergarten – First Grade Public-use File and ECLS-K Kindergarten-Eighth Grade Public-use File.
From this web site, users may download data documentation, data files, and setup files for SAS, SPSS, and STATA.

The Google Public Data Explorer makes large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. You don't have to be a data expert to navigate between different views, make your own comparisons, and share your findings. Provides data from a range of international organizations including the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, and others.

IPUMS provides integrated public microdata series for the US Census (IPUMS-USA), international censuses (IPUMS-International) and the Current Population Survey (IPUMS-CPS). All data is available for free download from the host site at the Minnesota Population Center.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.

State of Iowa's open data portal. Explore data about Iowa and your state government, discover answers to the questions you have, and share the information with others.

This site offers a variety of data visualization tools, along with datasets, with varying degrees of interactivity. All resources are based on data Pew has gathered.

The Roper Center archive consists of over 20,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. Approximately 60% of these were conducted in the United States. These studies cover a vast variety of topics including elections and politics, social issues, finances and the economy, education, health, international affairs, social movements and change, and historical events. State-level datasets are also available, including large collections from California, Connecticut, Iowa, Minnesota, New York, and Texas. The Roper Center’s collection provides opportunities for researchers to conduct detailed secondary analysis to discover new insights years after the original survey was released.

Contains information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operations of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes full text of selected BJS documents. Also offers links to sites with related information.

Portal for data produced by the US Government. Searchable by subject.

IPUMS provides integrated public microdata series for the US Census (IPUMS-USA), international censuses (IPUMS-International) and the Current Population Survey (IPUMS-CPS). All data is available for free download from the host site at the Minnesota Population Center.

Quora has a list of over 100 publicly available data sets.

From Scientific Data - an open access journal from the Nature Publishing Group - a list of recommended data repositories.

re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.

Datasets from the Stanford Network Analysis Project.

The Machine Learning Repository at UC Irvine includes business data sets for bank marketing and credit defaults.

A collection of datasets from Yahoo that are available to academics for non-commercial research. Topics include advertising, competition, computer systems, and ratings data. Included is the recently released Yahoo News Feed dataset.