Open Educational Resources (OER)

Publisher of Think Python, Think Bayes, and Think Java, Green Tea Press provides a variety of free open texts on topics in Information Technology.

The bookdown package is an open-source R package that facilitates writing books and long-form articles/reports with R Markdown. Find a catalog of books here.

This text provides a comprehensive foundation in core computer science concepts and principles, aligning with the scope and sequence of most introductory computer science courses.

This is an essential textbook that explores the intricate relationship between technology and global societies. It gives students and professionals a deep understanding of how cultural contexts shape and are shaped by computing practices, from algorithm design to user interface development.

This book serves as an introduction to semantic web development. This book expects undergraduate students who are new to web development. Therefore this work focuses on entry level topics: HTML5 and its semantic elements, CSS3, and JSON-LD with schema.org. Example code and files for this work will be updated each semester I teach this course.

This book is a crash course in the foundational concepts, architectures, protocols, and languages of full stack web development. It is suitable for an introductory web development course in the second semester and beyond of any computer science or software engineering program.

The goal of this book is to provide an Informatics-oriented introduction to programming. The primary difference between a computer science approach and the Informatics approach taken in this book is a greater focus on using Python to solve data analysis problems common in the world of Informatics.

Think Python is an introduction to Python programming for beginners. It starts with basic concepts of programming; it is carefully designed to define all terms when they are first used and to develop each new concept in a logical progression.

Introduction to Python Programming is an interactive offering that teaches basic programming concepts, problem-solving skills, and the Python language using hands-on activities. The resource includes a unique, integrated code runner through which students can immediately apply what they learn to check their understanding. Embedded videos, critical thinking exercises, and explorations of external programming tools and activities all contribute to a meaningful and supportive learning experience.

The Seventh Edition of Introduction to Programming Using Java is a free, on-line textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java.

This book contains roughly three parts. The first 11 chapters discuss the JavaScript language itself. The next eight chapters are about web browsers and the way JavaScript is used to program them. Finally, two chapters are devoted to Node.js, another environment to program JavaScript in.

University-level, short video lessons and full online courses to help you understand and prepare for this technology of the future.

This book introduces concepts in mobile, autonomous robotics to 3rd-4th year students in Computer Science or a related discipline. The book covers principles of robot motion, forward and inverse kinematics of robotic arms and simple wheeled platforms, perception, error propagation, localization and simultaneous localization and mapping.

I wrote this book to give first year students a basic introduction to MATLAB syntax and algorithmic thinking. This is by no means a comprehensive resource. It is meant to get students started and allow them to transition to more complex material.

This online textbook was developed for the Foundations of Data Science class at UC Berkeley.

This second edition of Database Design book covers the concepts used in database systems and the database design process.

A Primer for Computational Biology aims to provide life scientists and students the skills necessary for research in a data-rich world. The text covers accessing and using remote servers via the command-line, writing programs and pipelines for data analysis, and provides useful vocabulary for interdisciplinary work. It is broken into 3 parts: Unix/Linux, Python, and R.