Library Guides: History Research Guide: Russia

Russian History Resources

Digitized Historical News Sources from Slavic, East European and Eurasian Countries
A handy, country-by-country list of open access historical news sources from Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe. Some countries have better coverage than others.
Encyclopedia of Russian History
2004. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.
History of Russian Costume from the Eleventh to the Twentieth Century (1977)
A free, online book with photos and descriptions of Russian dress from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Images of Russia and Caucasus Region 1929-1933
This collection presents 800 images of Russia and the central Caucasus including the Republic of Georgia and Dagestan from the William O. Field Collection housed at the American Geographical Society Library.
Princeton Slavic Collections
This collection includes: Russian and Soviet literature; performing arts in Russia and the Soviet Union; Russian and Soviet visual culture; intellectual history of the region with a particular emphasis on the history of science and pseudoscience; Soviet illustrated periodicals; and contemporary politics and society.
Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Library of Congress)
The Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii Collection features color photographic surveys of the vast Russian Empire made between ca. 1905 and 1915. Frequent subjects among the 2,607 distinct images include people, religious architecture, historic sites, industry and agriculture, public works construction, scenes along water and railway transportation routes, and views of villages and cities.
University of Wisconsin-Madison - CREECA: Center for Russia, East Europe & Central Asia
Contains information about academic programs, member faculty, and employment opportunities related to the Center's areas of study. Also contains links to cultural resources.
World Digital Library - Russia
Includes maps, photos, documents, and images dealing with or originating from Russia.

Soviet Russia

Seventeen Moments in Soviet History
A multimedia archive of primary materials designed to introduce students and the general public to the richness and contradictions of Soviet history.
Sino-Soviet Relations (Digital Archive)
This is a catch-all collection for sources on Sino-Soviet relations.
Sino-Societ Split, 1960-1984 (Digital Archive)
Documents on the growing division and worsening relations between China and the Soviet Union from 1960 onward.
Stalinka
Stalinka is intended as an online resource for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone conducting research on Stalin/ism. It was originally assembled by Helena Goscilo (Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures), Susan Corbesero (Department of History), and Petre Petrov (graduate student) at the University of Pittsburgh from 2004-2005.

Becca Yowler

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, History, World Languages & Cultures