Library Guides: History Research Guide: Civil War

Civil War General Resources

Causes of the Civil War
provides the intent of collecting copies of or links to as many primary documents from the period of the secession crisis with the goal of shedding light on the causes of secession and the resulting Civil War.
Abraham Lincoln: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Abraham Lincoln, including the complete Abraham Lincoln Papers from the Manuscript Division.
Iowa In The Civil War Project
Extensive listing of links to Iowa's Civil War experience.
The Journal of the Civil War Era
The Journal of the Civil War Era publishes new works on the many issues raised by slavery, the sectional crisis, war, emancipation, Reconstruction, and memory of the country’s signal conflict, while bringing fresh understanding to the struggles that defined the period, and by extension, the course of American history in the nineteenth century.

Chronicling America
The Chronicling America website contains digitized newspaper pages and information about historic newspapers to place the primary sources in context and support future research.
HarpWeek - Electronic Access to Harper's Weekly
Contains all the pages of Harper's weekly (1857-1877) as scanned images, together with a series of four indexes: subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising. Boolean operators may be used in searching the indexes.
Civil War Diaries (ISU Digital Collections)
Freely available online to anyone - contains scanned images of diaries written by Celestia Lee Barker, Charles W. Chapman, Cyrus Bussey, James Robertson, John W. Chambers, and L. Stone Hall.
Civil War Diaries and Letters (U Iowa)
A digitized collection of war diaries and correspondence relating to the Civil War
54th Regiment (Massachusetts Historical Society)
The Fifty-fourth Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment was the first military unit consisting of black soldiers to be raised in the North during the Civil War.
Civil War Women: Duke University Libraries
Finding aid to online archival collections featuring scanned pages and texts of the writings of women during the American Civil War.

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, History, World Languages & Cultures