Library Guides: History Research Guide: 1975-Present

Late 20th-21st Century U.S. History Resources

HIV and AIDS Timeline
The HIV.gov Timeline reflects the history of the domestic HIV/AIDS epidemic from the first reported cases in 1981 to the present—where advances in HIV prevention, care, and treatment offer hope for a long, healthy life to people who are living with, or at risk for, HIV and AIDS.
Out in the Archives: HIV/AIDS
A digital collection on the history of the HIV/AIDS epidemic, from its outbreak in the 1980s to Reagan's response and finally, to the modern-day treatment options available.
The Starr Report
Text by the Office of the Independent Counsel to the U.S. House of Representatives.
The Tripp Tapes
Access to 22 hours of tapes secretly recorded by Linda Tripp of conversations with Monica Lewinsky and others, as well as selected highlights. Also contains links to documents, news articles, and video excerpts pertaining to the Lewinsky affair.
The September 11 Digital Archive
Extensive list of primary sources devoted to 9/11
Hurricane Digital Memory Bank
he Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University and the University of New Orleans organized the Hurricane Digital Memory Bank (HDMB) in 2005 in partnership with many national and Gulf Coast area organizations and individuals to collect and preserve the stories of hurricanes Katrina and Rita.
Occupy Archive
The Occupy Archive is a collection of digitized Occupy Movement materials and ephemera collected from 2011-2018.
LGBT Pride Month Films
Linked films and resources from PBS.
Our Marathon: The Boston Bombing Digital Archive
Our Marathon is a crowdsourced archive of pictures, videos, stories, and social media related to the Boston Marathon; the bombing on April 15, 2013; the subsequent search, capture, and trial of the individuals who planted the bombs; and the city’s healing process.
The Select Committee on Benghazi
On May 8, 2014, the House of Representatives adopted H. Res. 567, Providing for the Establishment of the Select Committee on the Events Surrounding the 2012 Terrorist Attack in Benghazi, Libya. These hearings and reports are archived here.
Internet Archive TV News
Use this digital archive to search through hours of recorded television broadcasts. Many videos include captions, though not all.

Becca Yowler

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, History, World Languages & Cultures