*Fashion Design and Merchandising (FDM) Research Guide

• Christian Dior (1996)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• Madame Grès (1994)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda

• American Ingenuity: Sportswear, 1930s-1970s (1998)

  Richard Martin
• History of Russian Costume from the Eleventh to the Twentieth Century (1977)

  The Metropolitan Museum of Art
• The Age of Napoleon: Costume from Revolution to Empire, 1789–1815 (1989)

  Katell Le Bourhis, ed.
• Waist Not: The Migration of the Waist, 1800–1960 (1994)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• The Imperial Style: Fashions of the Hapsburg Era (1980)

  Polly Cone, ed.
• Dangerous Liaisons: Fashion and Furniture in the Eighteenth Century (2008)

  Harold Koda and Andrew Bolton
• From Queen to Empress: Victorian Dress, 1837–1877 (1989)

  Caroline Goldthorpe
• The Manchu Dragon: Costumes of the Ch'ing Dynasty, 1644–1912 (1980)

  Jean Mailey
• The Eighteenth-Century Woman (1982)

  Oliver Bernier

• The Essential Art of African Textiles: Design Without End (2008)

  Alisa LaGamma and Christine Giuntini
• Our New Clothes: Acquisitions of the 1990s (1999)

  Richard Martin
• Bare Witness (1996)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• Bloom! (1995)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• Haute Couture (1995)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• Infra-Apparel (1993)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• Orientalism: Visions of the East in Western Dress (1994)

  Richard Martin and Harold Koda
• Wordrobe (1997)

  Richard Martin

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

  Almost 16,000 journals are indexed in DOAJ. They cover all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities. Since many of the titles are in languages other than English, you may want to use the "Languages" filter.
• Berghahn Journals

  A collection of peer-reviewed open access journals in the humanities and social sciences.
• Open Access Journals Through Browzine

  Free, Open Access content available in Browzine.

• ISU Digital Press (Apparel and Textile Design)

  "The Digital Press hosts and publishes journals, conference proceedings, books, and textbooks in disciplines represented in Iowa State University's curricular and research programs. Materials published through the press are open access upon publication."
• Knowledge Unlatched

  "...makes scholarly content freely available to everyone and contributes to the further development of the Open Access infrastructure."
• Open Textbook Library

  The Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.

• JSTOR: Open Content This link opens in a new window

  • 

  This is a subset of the full JSTOR collection, limited to content found in the JSTOR Open Collection, all free to use. The ever-expanding JSTOR: Open Content offerings include full-text e-journals, journal articles, images, eBooks, book chapters, research reports, and curated resources from partner institutions’ digital repositories and collections.

• Bloomsbury Collection (Open Access)

  Covers many disciplines. Use the subject filter to browse titles.
• OAPEN

  Contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
• ISU Fashion Plates Digital Collection

  Hosted by the University Library Digital Collections, the Fashion Plates collection (1776-2003) contains plates of general fashion dating back to the 18th century and continuing through the 20th century.
• Google Books

  You can also use Google Books to look for free online books or for-sale copies of e-books. Non-copyrighted materials are a strength of their collections.
• OER Commons

  The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
• Directory of Open Access Books (doab)

  "The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books .... The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards"
• Direct to Open (D2O) - MIT

  "D2O harnesses the collective power of libraries to support open and equitable access to vital, leading scholarship."