Library Guides: *Fashion Design and Merchandising (FDM) Research Guide: History, Museums & More

Handbook of Museum Textiles by Seiko Jose (Editor); Sabu Thomas (Editor); Pintu Pandit (Editor); Ritu Pandey (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2022-12-16

Helpful Resources

Online Resources

Textiles & Clothing Museums/Galleries & Other Collections

Medieval Clothing & Textiles

A cross-searchable collection of the first 16 volumes of Medieval Clothing and Textiles annuals. It features multiple examinations of specific clothing items as well as studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe. It straddles a wide range of popular subjects including masculinity, the history of women, religious clothing, and the representation of clothing and textiles in literature, tapestries, and arts. The dress - and what it can tell us about the role of the individual within society – of nuns, courtiers, merchants, brides, warriors and more, are all explored. Later volumes are not included.

Mary A. Barton Fashion Illustration Collection - ISU Special Collections
"The collection (1776-2008) contains plates of general fashion dating back to the 18th century and continuing through the 20th century. Additional categories within the files include accessories, baby and beach fashions, bridal fashions and portraits, children's and communion clothing, footwear, inaugural gowns, maid uniforms, masquerade costumes, men's fashion, millinery, mourning dresses, negligees and undergarments. There are also magazine issues relating to fashion as well as magazine articles discussing fashion of the Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern periods." Scroll to the bottom and click "Digital Material" to view fashion plates.
Textiles and Clothing Museum (TCM) - ISU
"TCM is a unique and irreplacable record of material culture and history. The collection comprises over 9,000 objects including flat textiles, clothing, accessories, and other fashion-related items collected from across time periods of regional as well as global significance."
The Costume Institute
"The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present."
Victoria and Albert Museum (VA)
A online museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity. The Museum holds many of the UK's national collections and houses some of the greatest resources for the study of ...fashion, textiles ..."