Subject - Multicultural - JL MC 2010 & JL MC 3020 - Library Guides at Iowa State University

African American National Biography by Henry Louis Gates and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham (editors)
Call Number: E185.96 A4466 2008 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection)
8-volume set containing over 4,000 entries. AANB presents history through the lives of individuals, showcasing the influence of persons of African descent in the U.S. from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day.
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Americans by Nicholas E. Meyer
Call Number: E184 S75 M49 2001 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection
“This extensive biographical dictionary includes more than 250 entries profiling Hispanic men and women whose achievements have made a lasting impact on American society.”

BlackPast
Free website "dedicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world.” The website has over 1,500 biographical and other encyclopedia entries, full-text transcripts of speeches, and links to digital archives dating back to the 18th century.

Distinguished Asian Americans by Hyung-chan Kim
"Biographical profiles of noted Asian Americans, celebrating the contributions of 166 distinguished Asian Americans."
Encyclopedia of Native American Biography by Donald A. Grinde; Bruce E. Johansen; Donald A. Grinde Jr.
Call Number: E89 .J69 1997 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection)
"This is an easily read collective biographical work listing hundreds of Native & non-Native Americans who played significant roles in Native American history & culture."
Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary by Gretchen M. Bataille and Laurie Lisa (editors)
Call Number: E98 W8 B38 2001 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection)
This A-Z reference contains 275 biographical entries on Native American women, past and present, from many different walks of life. The entries examine the complex and diverse roles of Native American women in contemporary and traditional cultures.
Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary by Matt S. Meier; Conchita Franco Serri; Richard A. Garcia
Call Number: E184.S75 M35 1997 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection)
Available online and in hard copy.

SEARCH TIPS!

Note that many ethnic biographical sources are covered by Gale in Context: Biography. Start there first, then try some of the sources on this page or look for other books via Quick Search. The best method for locating additional books is to search Quick Search - Advanced Search page - change "any field" to "subject." Type in your topic, then add AND biograph* to the end of the search. For example: "Indians of North America" AND biograph*

Some examples for specific ethnic groups include:

Blacks
"African Americans"
"Asian Americans"
"Pacific Islander Americans"
"Racially mixed people"

Alternatively, a more general search would be: "Ethnic & Race" AND biograph*

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window