The best place to start your biography search is with Biography in Context or Credo Reference!! These sources will give an overview of the person and their life's work. For a lengthier biography use Find Books or the Specialized Subjects section of this guide.
The website of A & E’s Biography television series includes a searchable text of 15,000 entries from The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia. This resource is useful for current or popular personalities and includes video clips of some individuals.
Current Biography Yearbook
Call Number: CT100 C93 (Tier 2 - Reference)
Publication Date: 1940-present
This set mainly covers biographies in contemporary news and magazine sources. It include individuals who are famous in the moment, but whose popularity dwindles over time and thus may not get covered by Biography in Context. 1940-2006 are in the General Collection (Floor 2). 2007-present are in Tier 2 Reference Collection.
v.1-46 are free online; v.47-63 are in hard copy only. This is a multi-decade series of volumes of biographies of Americans in every state. It contains more than 60,000 entries, mostly compiled from information provided by the subjects or their families, though sources are not usually credited. A good source for information on individuals pre-1984 that are not contained in other sources.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by Lawrence Goldman (Editor)
Call Number: DA28 O95 (Tier 2 Reference)
3 volumes covering all of British history - up through 2008. It includes biographies of noteworthy men and women who have left their mark on Britain.