Subject - Authors - JL MC 2010 & JL MC 3020 - Library Guides at Iowa State University

Literary biographies

Academy of American Poets
Includes biographies of more than 500 poets, in addition to thousands of poems, essays about poems, and more.

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
The DLB is a long-running series of themed volumes, such as American Novelists Since World War II and Russian Writers Since 1980, each containing a few dozen long essays including a mixture of literary criticism and biographical information that puts the authors work in context. This database allows researchers to search the entire series at once, as well as supplementary publications like the DLB Yearbook Series and the DLB Documentary Series.

International Who's Who of Authors and Writers
Call Number: Z1010 I571
Publication Date: 1976-2017
Covers key personalities and organizations of the literary world, whether world-famous or lesser known. International in scope and covering all literary genres. Most recent year in Tier 2 Reference Collection. Older volumes in the General Collection (Tier 7).

Something about the Author This link opens in a new window
Something About the Author provides access to information about authors and illustrators of children's and young adult books. There are over 20,000 entries currently searchable in this resource, including a growing number of autobiographical essays.

Native American Authors
"This website provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites. Currently the website primarily contains information on contemporary Native American authors, although some historical authors are represented." This website includes the ability to search for authors by tribe.

Tips

Information about an author can sometimes be found by checking the preface or introduction of an author's work for scholarly background and academic achievements.