Library Guides: JL MC 2010 & JL MC 3020: National & Regional Newspapers

The Atlantic (Print Edition)

Includes all issues since inception in 1857 and their front page images.

Bloomberg Businessweek

(Print Edition)

Satirical Newspapers

The Onion
A free satirical online publication that publishes articles on international and local news.
The Hard Times
A satirical site with a focus on punk, alt music, and millennial culture.

Sample of National & Regional Newspapers

New York Times
Campus-wide access to the New York Times requires a NYT account. Follow the following steps to register.
1. Click the above link. (Will take you straight to the university login)
2. Login to your existing NYT account or create a new account with your iastate.edu email
3. Select your affiliation to the university (defaults to student)
4. An email will be sent to your ISU email with a link to validate access for one year
5. Go to http://www.NYTimes.com to access the newspaper site.
NOTE: *Users need to re-validate their account every 12 months.
*If you are using the new ISU Login dashboard, simply use the "Add apps" tab to add the New York Times app to your dashboard for quick access. Access through Okta will no longer work.
New York Times - Other Access Options
Full Text: Gale OneFile: News - 01/01/1985 - current;
Factiva - current;
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1851-2019)
Microfilm: 1851-2017 - Call number AN1 N489
Wall Street Journal (Sign In - Follow the Steps)
*If you are using the new ISU Login dashboard, simply use the "Add apps" tab to add the Wall Street Journal app to your dashboard for quick access. Access through Okta will no longer work.
The Journal is also available in the following platforms.
ABI/Inform Global: 1984 - Current
Factiva - Current
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1889-2011)
Microfilm: 1963-2017 - Call number HG1 .W154
Wall Street Journal Index 1963 - 1990, (Call #: HG1.W154i)

Atlantic
Founded in 1857, The Atlantic is a long-running magazine, providing long-form journalism about current events, across a range of perspectives.
Please note that this resource is not available to members of the public visiting Parks Library.
Bloomberg.com
Business and international news articles, economic insights, and television content from Bloomberg L.P. Includes access to the last six years of Businessweek.

PLEASE NOTE: Enter your @iastate.edu email address to sign in.
This resource is not available to members of the public visiting Parks Library.

The Washington Post
Available Full Text Access Options:
Gale OneFile: News - 01/01/2014 - current
Newspaper Source Plus - 2003 - current
Factiva - current
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1877-2007)
Microfilm: 1920-2017 - Call number AN1 .W32
Print index 1971 - present, Reference AI21.W33
Washington Post Website: Free 14 day access (Might change without warning)
Arizona Daily Star (Tucson, AZ)
Full text: Access World News - 01/01/1991 - current
Newspaper Source Plus - 9/29/2001 - current
Star Tribune (Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN)
Full text: Access World News - 1986 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 01/01/1996 - current;
Webpage: Free three week archive (Might change without warning)
Atlanta Journal-Constitution (Atlanta, GA)
Full text: Access World News - 01/01/1985 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 7/20/1996 - Current;
Also Available in Factiva - Current
Microfilm: As "The Atlanta Constitution" - 1916-1949 - Call number AN1 A8
Kansas City Star (Kansas City, MO)
Webpage: Free 7 day archive
Full text: Access World News - 1991 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 8/1997 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 03/27/2000 - 03/01/2011
Stars and Stripes
Full text: Gale OneFile: News - 07/19/2008 - Current;
American Memory Project - 1918-1919;
Print: 1944-1945 in oversize (ask at Main Desk in the Lobby) -- Call number D731 St28
Boston Globe (Boston, MA)
Full text: Gale OneFile: News - 4/23/2000 - 7/27/2007
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1872-1991)
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (St. Louis, MO)
Full text: Access World News - 1988 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 8/1997 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 01/01/1996 - Current;
Microfilm: 1889-1940 in microfilm (storage)--Call number AN1 .S2
Webpage: Can’t tell how far back search on archives is free
USA Today
Full text: Gale OneFile: News - 07/1/ 2003 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 2/2002 - 2018;
Factiva - current;
Microfilm: 1978 - 2015
Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA)
Full text: Also available in Factiva - Current
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1881-1999)
Microfilm: 1979-1999 - Call number AN1 L67X
Boston Herald (Boston, MA)
Website: Free 7 day archive;
Full text: Access World News - 1991 - current
Gale OneFile: News - 01/1/1997 - 11/3/2010
Chicago Tribune
Access World News (Red Eye Edition) - 2014 - Current
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1849-2014)
Gale OneFile: News - 03/23/2000 - 09/1/2009;
Factiva - current
Print index 1984-1991, Reference AI21.C45 C47x
Microfilm: 1984-1988 - Call number AN1 C44x
Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA)
Full text: Access World News - 1987 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 1995 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 12/19/1996 - Current
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Database (1908-2011)
Microfilm: 2004-2016 - Call number AN1 C43
Print index 1979-1983, Reference AI21.C462 B44
Denver Post (Denver, CO)
Full Text: Newspaper Source Plus - 9/1997 - current
Deseret News (Salt Lake City, UT
Webpage: Free 6 month archive
Fulltext: Access World News - 1988 - current
Miami Herald, Miami, FL
Webpage: Free 7 day archive
Full text: Access World News - 2/1997 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 5/1982 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 01/20/2002 - 02/25/2011
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (Milwaukee, WI)
Webpage: Freely searchable from 1996 to present
Full text: Access World News - 1990 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 9/1997 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 04/12/2000 - 11/19/2009
Omaha World-Herald (Omaha, NE)
Full text: Newspaper Source Plus - 9/1997 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 04/27/2000 - 08/31/2009;
Webpage: Free 3 week archive (registration required)
Philadelphia Inquirer (Philadelphia, PA)
Full text: Access World News - 1981 - current;
Newspaper Source Plus - 2/1997 - current;
Gale OneFile: News - 03/27/2000 - current;
Webpage: Free 7 day archive
San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA)
Free fulltext archives from 2003;
Full Text also available in Gale OneFile: News - 03/18/2000 - 11/21/2000

For other national newspapers, please go to Newslink at http://newslink.org/news.html

JL MC 2010 & JL MC 3020

Satirical Newspapers

Sample of National & Regional Newspapers

U.S. News Feeds