Online Encyclopedias

Translates complex disorders into understandable language.

1993. A general, well-research encyclopedia on all aspects of adult development.

2002. Gale Group. All aspects of aging, covering disciplines such as biology, medicine, economics, law, psychology, sociology, and history.

2010. "This encyclopedia offers over 300 authoritative and accessible synopses of topics ranging from dolphin signature whistles to game theory."

2014. Each entry presents a state-of-the-art assessment of a topic, clearly written for the student user.

2009. Sage.
From their website: "This two-volume resource addresses the traditional death and dying–related topics but also presents a unique focus on the human experience to create a new dimension to the study of death and dying. With more than 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning."

Covers the social, medical and political issues related to drugs and alcohol, as well as types of addiction.

2004. Covers all aspects of health and behavior.

Provides links to websites with information about scientific psychology and original information by researchers and practitioners in various psychological fields.

1996.

2005. Comprehensive guide to the field of school psychology featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment.

2003. Includes entries for all of the disorders in the DSM-IV-TR, as well as various therapies, e.g., alternative and drugs.

Coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheime.'s disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia, and epilepsy, targeted to patients, their families and students

Covers topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural and other mysterious phenomena.

1996. Comprehensive encyclopedia of terms, events, persons, and concepts in the field of educational psychology.

2003. Covering all aspects of death and dying -- biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical, providing a historical and cross-cultural perspective through time.

A very understandable explanation of abnormal psychological terms that can be found in DSM-5.

2009. Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Explores how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more.