Check this guide to find encyclopedias. Most are available online, but a few are print copies in the ISU Library. Some are general encyclopedias; some are specialized, focused on specific subject areas.
"The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today."--Title page
"Over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies."--Website
Provides extensive coverage of war and society from the ancient world up to the present. Also contains a timeline as well numerous full text documents. It may look outdated, but the content is kept up to date!
2000. Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework
2004. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.
2006. A survey of the formative years of the United States, starting just prior to the American Revolution and ending with the inauguration of Andrew Jackson in 1829.
2000. Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.
1999. A comprehensive account of the Italian American experience, including arts, history, religion, literature, pop culture, sports, and science and technology.
"Presents 500 entries describing Americans who defined the 1960s, including politicians, athletes, entertainers, and artists, among many others."--Website
1999. Covers diverse areas of British culture, including films, authors, music, architecture, education, fashion and design, intellectual life, media, politics, sports, television, and youth, since the 1960s.
A collection of documents and original articles on people, organizations, and topics pertaining to the women's movement in and around the 19th century in Great Britain. Articles include hyperlinks to other sections of the encyclopedia.
Hundreds of entries, alphabetically arranged, for people, places, incidents, and mythical figures found in the history, legends, and literature of the Celtic peoples. Entries linked numerically (but not hyperlinked) to an extensive bibliography. Includes
