Check this guide to find encyclopedias. Most are available online, but a few are print copies in the ISU Library. Some are general encyclopedias; some are specialized, focused on specific subject areas.
The online, full-text version of the print encyclopedia, published in 2012, contains over 1100 entries ranging from short essays to longer ones that give a detailed overview of key developments and ideas. This resource also includes biographical entries on major figures in the field of applied linguistics and covers the philosophy and history of this area of study as well as essays that discuss aspects of current research in the field. Updated quarterly.
This encyclopedia is also available in print in the Parks Library Reference Collection (P129 E527 2013).
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.
It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing.
1997- . SYMBOLS.com contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. The signs range from ideograms carved in mammoth teeth by Cro-Magnon men, to hobo signs and subway graffiti.
