Library Guides: Marketing Research Guide: Market Segments and Demographics

PRIZM Segments in Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect includes demographic data by PRIZM segments that can be searched by zip code, county, or city. Click on the link to Mergent Intellect below, and select the "Demographics" tab. Select your geographic area and perform the search. The report you want in the "PRIZM Household Distribution." There is also a link to the PRIZM Segment definitions.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides access to a comprehensive suite of business information that includes US and global business directories, D&B First Research Industry Reports, Nielsen PRIZM demographics, a job search database, and executive contact information.

Market Segments

The ISU Library has a number of New Stategist publications on different market segments. Enter "New Strategist" in the search box below to get a list. Items are available in Parks Library.

Quick Search - ISU Library

Census and BLS

The links below are from either the Bureau of Labor Statistics or the Census Bureau.

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau is the principal agency in the U.S. responsible for collecting and producing data about the American people and the economy.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Statistics found here include employment and unemployment rates, and consumer price index, wholesaler price index and producer price index, consumer expenditure, labor productivity and much more.
American Time and Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey provides information about "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey provides data about the buying habits of American consumers. It is the only Federal survey that provides information on the complete range of consumers' expenditures and incomes, and the characteristics of those consumers.
Explore Census Data
Data.census.gov is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it. For guidance on using data.census.gov, please see our Resources page at https://www.census.gov/data/adrm/what-is-data-census-gov.html.
Current Industrial Reports
Production and shipment reports for manufacturing industries. Not all industries are included and some information is only available as annual data.
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Data Access Tools
Links to statistical tools and downloads that can be used to analyze census data.
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Economic Census: Historical Data
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Released every five years, these reports provide a glimpse of industrial activity.
E-Commerce Statistics
The U.S. Census Bureau site devoted to measuring the electronic economy.
International Data Base (IDB)
U.S. Census Bureau. International Data Base includes demographic information, country rankings and populations information for countries worldwide.
Statistical Abstract Series
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
FedStats
Provides statistical data from over 100 government agencies. Access is available by agency or by topic.

Government: Commerce

The Commerce Department provides several option for searching business and economic data.

Department of Commerce
This is a link to the main page.
Bureau of Economics Analysis
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data.

National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
The National Technical Report Library provides access to bibliographic descriptions of more than 2,000,000 unrestricted technical reports from U.S. and non-U.S. government.

STAT-USA
STAT-USA ceased operation in 2010, but links to the information in STAT-USA can be found in this guide.
HUD State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS)
The SOCDS provides data for individual metropolitan areas, central cities, and suburbs. Use the 'Quick Links' section to retrieve information first by state and then by city.
Innovation in American Regions
Commerce Department product that maps innovation by region. Ability to search by occupation or industry clusters. Data ends in 2011 so this is an aging product.
StatsAmerica
StatsAmerica is to provide actionable data for economic developers to use in site requests, developing metrics, grant writing and strategic planning. StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.

Other Sites

Population Reference Bureau
National and international population, health and environmental information.
Data Information Services Center - UWisc Madison
Contains over 825 annotated links to data-related social science related resources.
USAFacts
Nonpartisan site created by former Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer to make government statistics easier to find and interpret.. Includes government finance data, population and demographics, and government impact.

Your Librarian

Jeffrey Kushkowski

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

Professor
Innovation and Entrepreneurship,
Business and Economics Librarian
150 Parks Library

515 294-2408

Subjects: Business, Economics, Faculty Resources, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Research & Publication, Teaching & Classroom Support