Political Science Research Guide

Contains "nearly 100,000 pages of a planned 250,000 pages representing at least one prison in 30 states. With the help of JSTOR Daily, many users are finding this material who might not otherwise know it exists"

A comprehensive list of Iowa historical newspapers compiled by the University of Northern Iowa's Rod Library.

"The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013 features the complete archive of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times. The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013 charts the history of the 20th century from luxury travel and opulent entertainment, to international conflicts, the spread of American culture abroad and globalization."

"A collection of digitized newspapers originally published by incarcerated persons in United States prisons. The collection spans the years of 1800-2020, and it includes newspapers from across the United States and from penal institutions of all kinds, including women's-only institutions."

"Dating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006"

The State Historical Society of Iowa in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress, offers access to select digitized Iowa newspapers online through Chronicling America.

"The Chronicling America website contains digitized newspaper pages and information about historic newspapers to place the primary sources in context and support future research." It is maintained by the Library of Congress. Can be searched by state using the drop-down menu.

Newspaper Search is a dedicated, separate search box that returns results exclusively for newspaper articles, magazine articles, and news items. This meets the expectations of users who prefer not to mix newspaper articles with other scholarly content. Articles in many historical publications are also retrievable. Simply launch a search then filter by "date" to the time period you are interested in.

"The ICON database is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. The database currently has 47,606,790 issues from 171,610 publications dating from 1649–2015." Please NOTE that the information is mainly bibliographic.

This databases contains material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.

Contains full text access to nearly 3,000 newspapers throughout the world going back more than a hundred years.

This archive is available courtesy of the Griswold Public Library. Contains historic Iowa newspapers such as the Griswold American (1885-2015), Elliott Graphic (1893-1942), Lewis Standard (1901-1918), Lewis Weekly Standard (1918-1933), Griswold Advocate (1880-1885) and Standard (1899-1901)

Includes full text access to hundreds of older newspapers from around the world.

This site provides access to historical digitize newspapers from around the world. The site is still underdevelopment, but content is added frequently.

This subscription-based resource presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016. You can sign up for FREE TRIAL.

A subscription-based newspaper archive with collections dating back to 1607. Contains more than 13,539+ different titles from every US state and twenty-eight other countries around the world. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, date, place, and title. ISU does not currently subscribe to this resource. Allows for a 7-day free trial.

This is an ongoing partnership between the British Library and "findmypast" to digitize up to 40 million newspaper pages from the former's vast newspaper collection. ISU does not currently subscribe to the platform. However, individual subscription with unlimited access goes for about US$8.71 per year.

The national archive collection in the UK of British and overseas newspapers and magazines.

This site provides access to their collection of audio and video recordings, books, pamphlets, periodicals, personal collections, oral histories, photographs, scripts and vertical files devoted exclusively to the history of broadcasting.

Providing access to an extensive archive of television news broadcasts.

Provided by Duke University this web site provides access to digital images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

Published for the American Expeditionary Force in France during World War I the newspaper's mission was to provide these scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort.

Access to digitized historic newspapers including online regional newspapers, Jewish newspapers, and historic periodicals.

"An online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. All of our stories contain links to publicly accessible research on JSTOR. We’re proud to publish articles based in fact and grounded by careful research and to provide free access to that research for all of our readers."

A digital repository of current and historical newspapers from the Caribbean. A part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean.

Links to online newspapers from all Latin American and Caribbean countries. Last updated in 2015.

"The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries."

"The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries."

Started as a Bengali language newspaper in 1867 and later morphed into "a full fledged English language newspaper from 1878 that continued till 1993....has often been treated as a Nationalist counterpart of the Statesman, the English language newspaper [that] represented the colonial government"

"The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news."

I list of regional historical newspapers covering Canada and US.

Contains more than 200 million pages of historical newspapers from more than 6,000 newspapers from around the United States and beyond. It is pay-walled but provides a 7-day free trial.

Developed by Duke University Libraries

Lists multiple freely available historic newspapers from as early as the 18th century

Call Number: Media Center (AN1 N482 microfilm)
Publication Date: 1835 -1919
Also available online: 1802-1817