Library Guides: Political Science Research Guide: U.S. Election History & Analysis

U.S. Election History & Analysis

American National Election Studies
The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation
Ballot Measures Database
NCSL’s Ballot Measures database includes all statewide ballot measures going back to 1892. The database is searchable by topic area, with options such as abortion, bond measures, criminal justice, education, elections, health, labor and employment, natural resources, tax and revenues, transportation and more.
Commission on Presidential Debates
Maintained by the Commission on Presidential Elections - has an online archive of the transcripts of presidential and vice presidential debates.
Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Has an extensive collection of election maps for all presidential elections from 1789 to the present as well as current information on the most recent election.
Electoral College
This site contains extensive information both current and historically relating to the Electoral College.
The Living Room Candidate
This online exhibition of political television commercials contains 183 commercials, from every presidential election from 1952 to present which can be viewed and heard.
OpenSecrets.org
Tracks money in politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008
Examines the evolution of presidential politics in America over 150 years.