Library Guides: Political Science Research Guide: State and Local Government

State and Local Government

50states.com - States and Capitals
Contains wide range of information relating to the fifty states as well as U.S. territories. Provides access, for example, to individual state tax forms and also specific city webpages.
Iowa.gov – The Official Website of the State of Iowa
Portal for Iowa state government information and services.
Iowa League of Cities
The Iowa League of Cities is dedicated to strengthening local government in Iowa's municipalities. The League is committed to defending the constitutional provision of Home Rule by supporting cities with administrative leadership, technical assistance, legislative representation, communication and training, and sponsorship of affiliated programs that provide municipal services.
Kaiser State Health Facts
This resource contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
Municode
Large compilation of municipal codes from throughout the United States.
National Association of Counties (NACo)
NACo collects, researches, publishes and disseminates a variety of different information for, on and about counties. It maintains a comprehensive database of information on counties, including a listing of county officials, and other types of statistical data.
National Conference of State Legistatures (NCSL)
Clearinghouse for the NCSL with access to numerous state documents, websites, reports, statutes, and surveys.
Open States
Open States is a collection of tools that make it possible for citizens to track what is happening in their state's capitol by aggregating information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. Researchers can research bills, review voting records, contact elected officials and more.
State Agency Databases - GODORT
In every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information – information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking. This website seeks to provide access to those various agencies within each state.
State and Local Governments (Library of Congress)
State Government Offices, Local US Government, City Government and Federal Government
Comprehensive gateway to sites controlled by state and local governments, organized by state; also provides a wide selection of links to the federal government, regional compacts, and professional organizations related to public administration. Includes search engine.
Stateline.org
This site is operated by the Pew Center on the States and was founded in order to help journalists, policy makers and engaged citizens become better informed about innovative public policies.
The United States Conference of Mayors
Official webpage for the U.S. Conference of Mayors.