Library Guides: Political Science Research Guide: Judicial Branch

Judicial

American Law Sources On-line
This excellent site provides a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to all on-line sources of American, Canadian, and Mexican law that are available without charge. It contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge (or available at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers).
Guide to Law Online - U.S. States & Territories
Prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, this site is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
History of the Federal Judiciary
This page presents basic reference information about the history of the federal courts and the judges who have served on the federal courts since 1789.
LII: Supreme Court Collection Home
This contains a collection of current Supreme Court decisions as well as other information related to the Supreme Court. It is a subset of Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute.
National Center for State Courts
Home page of the Center, an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to the improvement of justice by providing leadership and service to the state courts.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Offers both national and international resources (including abstracts, selected full texts, and links to other relevant sites) in the area of criminal justice and related subjects. Includes search engine.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Case Summaries, Oral Arguments & Multimedia
Extensive site maintained by Northwestern University with information on all the justices of the Supreme Court going back to the beginning.
Constitute: The World's Constitutions
Extensive collection of full text constitutions throughout the world
SCOTUSblog
Founded by Tom Goldstein and Amy Howe in 2002, SCOTUSblog is devoted to comprehensively covering the U.S. Supreme Court and is provided as a public service and sponsored by Bloomberg Law. The blog generally reports on every merits case before the Court at least three times: prior to argument; after argument; and after the decision. Outstanding source for Supreme Court activity.
Supreme Court Historical Society
Dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of the history of the Supreme Court of the United States and provides numerous links to sources both historical and legal.
Supreme Court of the United States
Homesite of the United States Supreme Court
U.S. Judiciary
Research guide of the U.S. Judiciary from the Library of Congress
United States Department of Justice
Homepage of the United States Department of Justice