Skip to Main Content

Conference Proceedings: A How-To-Find Guide

Techniques for locating conference papers and journal articles that were based on conference presentations.

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

Relevant titles & series

Manufacturing Engineering Transactions

Published from 1980-1985, and contains two sections. The beginning of the volume contains technical papers and the remainder of each volume consists of full text conference papers from the NAMRC.

North American Metalworking Research Conference

From 1977-79 full text of all papers from these conferences were published as a separate section of Manufacturing Engineering Transactions. Earlier proceedings (1st-4th held in 1973-1976) were sponsored by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and were issued separately as books.

The NAMRC conference papers are different publications from the technical papers ā€“ together they represent the entire field of manufacturing engineering research...which is why they are referred to as ā€œcompanion publications.ā€

North American Manufacturing Research Conference

From 1980-1985 full text of all papers from these conferences were published as a separate section of Manufacturing Engineering Transactions; from 1986-1987 the cover title on the proceedings was Manufacturing Technology Review, but volumes also mentioned the conference name. In 1988, it became a separate volume called 16th North American Manufacturing Research Conference Proceedings. Starting with the 17th, 1989, it became Transactions of the North American Manufacturing Research Institution of SME and continues to publish full text of all papers from the NAMRC.

SME Technical Digest

Published from 1969-1974 when title changed to Technical Digest. These include abstracts of technical papers available in the microfiche collection, as well as abstracts for video tapes, books, and papers from conferences.

Technical Paper

A series of research papers that were made available full text on microfiche starting in 1965 and currently continue to be produced in this format.

Transactions, the best papers of...

This was a short-lived series from 1987-1989 and, like it sounds, only contained a portion of the best papers for that particular year.

Resources for finding SME proceedings

Compendex

Compendex is a highly comprehensive index of engineering articles, but it also covers grey literature including conference proceedings. Several SME publications are covered, including the Technical Paper series and Transactions of the North American Manufacturing Research Institution of SME. If you do not know exactly which paper you need or if you are trying to verify you have the correct citation, Compendex is a good place to start.

ISU Library

The ISU Library has copies of many SME conference proceedings and technical papers, but our collection is not comprehensive. If a record is not linked on this page, use Quick Search to search for the title of the conference or series to see which proceedings are in our collections. Papers and proceedings not in our collection may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Erin Thomas
she/her/hers
Contact:
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
515 294-9886