Library Guides: ADVRT/PR 301: Research and Strategic Planning for Advertising and Public Relations: Market, Industry &amp; Company Information

How to Use Some of These Resources

Please watch these short videos for an overview of how to use some of these resources. If you have any questions or need help locating certain information from them, contact the librarian using the contact information above.

Mergent Online video tutorial
- Gives a good overview of the database especially about finding financials of publicly traded companies
Mergent Intellect video tutorial
- Covers how to effectively find competitors in an industry one is researching, and more ...
Business Insights video tutorial
- Shows how to find company profiles and other related information including industry, brand information, etc
IBISWorld video tutorial
- A good look at how to find various information about an industry including market share reports and industry profiles. Also competition and industry forecast/outlook can be found here.

Find Company, Industry, Brand Information, etc.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides access to a comprehensive suite of business information that includes US and global business directories, D&B First Research Industry Reports, Nielsen PRIZM demographics, a job search database, and executive contact information.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search by NAICS code or keyword to find thousands of U.S. industry research reports. Includes reports for the US, UK, and China.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Coverage is 1980 to present.
Business: Insights tutorial

Data USA
Publicly available US Government data rendered in a visual format by Deloitte, Datawheel, and MIT professor Cesar Hidalgo. Grouped in categories including industries.

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo contains data and business information on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. To access PrivCo without registering a personal account, click the “Direct Access” button.

Market Share Data

Market share data can be difficult to find and you may need to search more than one source for information. Sources such as Google do not usually provide free access to this sort of information and the reports that you find on the web can be very expensive. The library provides a number of databases that can best provide access to the information you need. Below is information about and links to some of these resources.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to market research reports. These reports provide access to information about industry conditions, competitors, and supply chain Includes reports for the US, UK and China.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Using the Companies/Markets tab at the top of the screen click on ‘Company’ and then enter the company name. Click on the name of your company to open record and then click on Reports on the left side of the screen. Select Detailed Company Profile Report and scroll to the bottom of the web page.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Research reports about industrial/ manufacturing industries, including chemicals, advanced materials, energy, and cell biology. Reports are comprehensive treatments of specific areas in basic and applied sciences.
The Library's subscription only includes reports produced by BCC Research. It does not include content from BCC Research Partners.