Library Guides: ADVRT/PR 301: Research and Strategic Planning for Advertising and Public Relations: Publications, Strategies, Historical & More

These resources are sourced from the open web. Please beware that they could be embedding the authors' hidden marketing agenda.

Use these links to search for historical advertisements. This sort of research may help you spot cultural trends while also highlighting corporate and consumer histories.

Ad* Access
Provided by Duke University this web site provides access to digital images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
The Advertising Archives
Established in 1990 the Advertising Archives is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. collection spans the years from the mid 19th Century to the present day. Images include: British & American Press Ads, British & American Magazine Covers and Artwork, Rare French & Spanish Magazine Art, British TV Advertising Stills, Mail Order Catalogs, and more.
Coca-Cola Television Advertisments
Hosted by the Library of Congress this site gives users access to 50 years of television advertising for this popular beverage.
EAA: Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (Duke University)
Cornell University Collection of Political Americana
This site provides access to the Susan H. Douglas Collection of Political Americana. This collection includes pproximately 5,500 items of American political campaign memorabilia and commemorative items dating to between 1789 and 1960.
The History of Advertising Trust
It is a comprehensive archive of British advertising and marketing communications. This archive includes clips of television commercials from 1977 - present.
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaigns Commercials, 1952-2016
he Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952, when Madison Avenue advertising executive "Rosser Reeves convinced Dwight Eisenhower that short ads played during such popular TV programs as I Love Lucy would reach more voters than any other form of advertising."
Vintage Ad Browser
"This site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more. At the moment, this site contains 123,310 ads."
Women Working Trade Catalogs, 1800-1930
Provided by Harvard University this site provides access to more than 6,000 pages of materials from from 155 catalogs and pamphlets from 70 companies. Trade catalogs can be browsed by topics such as Beauty Products, Clothing, Medicine, etc.

Advertising Annual 2019
This page contains a list of selected adverts in the Graphis Competition
Ad Access
Provided by Duke University this web site provides access to digital images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
AdForum
Find industry news, agency profiles and information on festivals and awards. There's also an ad search.
AdCritic Commercial
Providing access to view newly released television commercials.
Advertising World - University of Texas, Austin
This site provides links to an extensive list of resources for advertising and marketing professionals, students, and faculty.
RedBooks
Profiles advertisers by listing how much they spend on advertising, what channels they use and which advertising agencies companies hire. Accessible only in Hamilton Hall.
World Advertising Research Center
Sign up for a free trial membership to use this site. Access case studies and research reports.
Xtreme Information Ad Search
Find out the magazines carrying advertisements for certain brands and products. Try limiting your search to press advertisements. And if you don't want to search by brand, conduct an advanced search and keyword search by product
Small Business B2B Marketing Blog
A blog site providing insights, tips and ideas about generating B2B sales leads.
Mailing List Finder
Free. From the site: "The Mailing List Finder aims to help you to find those elusive "perfect" mailing lists for your direct marketing campaigns. It gives you free access to expert information on more than 60,000 postal, email, and telephone mailing lists from more than 1,400 vendors -- virtually every mailing list available."
4AS AD Agency
Useful for identifying specific advertising agencies by location, services and size. A resource provided by the American Association of Advertising Agencies.
Television Bureau of Advertising
Subpages of this website include listings of broadcast TV jobs as well as subpages for markets and stations that are helpful directories for identifying TV stations located in specific designated market areas (DMAs), including brief profiles of those markets. Belongs to a trade association for the US local TV broadcasting industry.

Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law