Skip to Main Content

ADVRT/PR 3010: Research and Strategic Planning for Advertising and Public Relations

Fall 2025

Annotated Bibliographies

"How Do I Cite Information I found Using a Mergent Database... In APA-Style? (Rasmussen University)
Contains good examples on how to cite sources from any Mergent database.

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
This resource walks you through understanding what an annotated bibliography is, the difference between annotations and abstracts, the process, critically appraising the resource, choosing your citation format, and provides examples.
Annotated Bibliographies from the Purdue OWL
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS. There are links in the left menu for example annotated bibs.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography - Prezi

APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 P83 2020

ISBN: 9781433832161

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

This is the 7th edition of the APA style manual. It has undergone thorough revision making it easier to navigate and locate the information one needs. It also has a dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers.

MLA Style

MLA Handbook Plus

This contains the full text of the latest (9th) edition of the MLA Handbook. A one-stop resource for all MLA style and citation information needs. The Modern Language Association (MLA) provides detailed information on over 25,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 G53 2016

ISBN: 9781603292627

Publication Date: 2016-04-01

MLA stands for the Modern Language Association. This is the style used mostly in the humanities, literature, religion, philosophy, and others. A new edition was published in 2016 and there are some significant changes from the previous handbook. Make sure you're using the 8th edition of the handbook.

Chicago Style Manual

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Z253 U69 2017 (Parks Library Main Desk)

Available in hard copy and online.

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law

More Citation Resources and Tools

The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2025 11:31 AM
URL: https://instr.iastate.libguides.com/advrt301
Print Page

Subjects: Journalism & Mass Communication

Tags: advertising, marketing, research