Library Guides: ADVRT 4340: Advertising Campaigns: Market Research & Company Information

Many of these resources are "mixed bags" containing multiple information and not only those under whose heading they appear. Beware of major overlaps and use them judiciously.

Market Research & Company Information

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides access to a comprehensive suite of business information that includes US and global business directories, D&B First Research Industry Reports, Nielsen PRIZM demographics, a job search database, and executive contact information.
Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Coverage is 1980 to present.
Business: Insights tutorial
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo contains data and business information on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. To access PrivCo without registering a personal account, click the “Direct Access” button.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting.
Business Source Elite tutorial
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Research reports about industrial/ manufacturing industries, including chemicals, advanced materials, energy, and cell biology. Reports are comprehensive treatments of specific areas in basic and applied sciences.
The Library's subscription only includes reports produced by BCC Research. It does not include content from BCC Research Partners.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search by NAICS code or keyword to find thousands of U.S. industry research reports. Includes reports for the US, UK, and China.

Company Information Sites on the Web

OpenCorporates
This online resource claims to be the largest open database of companies and company data in the world, with in excess of 100 million companies in a similarly large number of jurisdictions. It also claims it doesn't use any third party data, only provenanced primary public data hence providing complete line-of-sight to the official source.
Quandl
A pay-walled database providing financial, economic and other datasets.

Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law

Market Share Data

Market share data can be difficult to find and you may need to search more than one source for information. Sources such as Google do not usually provide free access to this sort of information and the reports that you find on the web can be very expensive. The library provides a number of databases that can best provide access to the information you need. Below is information about and links to some of these resources.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search by NAICS code or keyword to find thousands of U.S. industry research reports. Includes reports for the US, UK, and China.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search the world's leading business & news publications, incl. WSJ & Barron's. Includes 35,000 sources in 60 languages. Some content is unavailable to academic accounts.