Quick Search records include a brief description and location information for books, journals, and other items owned by the Library. You will also find records for individual articles. We recommend you choose an article index to search for journal articles, rather than using Quick Search.
Print reference books for the are located in Tier 2 at Parks Library. You'll find a large collection of encyclopedias and handbooks related to all areas of the life sciences. Online reference books are hosted by a variety of services and the best way to find them is through Quick Search.
Here are a few of the reference books and databases available through the ISU Library:
Van Nostrand's Scientific EncyclopediaPrint books for the life sciences are located throughout the Parks Library. Depending on what you are studying you may need to visit several floors. You can use the Call Numbers in Parks Library webpage as a quick guide but it's better to use Quick Search first. As a distance student you can request print materials through Interlibrary Loan.
Online books are hosted by a variety of services.See the eBook Services tab for more information on eBooks.
The best way to find both types of books is through Quick Search!
(box on the left and the e-Library homepage).
Some sample ebooks from the ISU Collection:
Applied Predictive Analytics: Principles and Techniques for the Professional Data Analyst by The University Library subscribes to many eBook services. The best way to locate ebooks is through Quick Search but you can also browse individual collections. Below are the collections most likely to be of use to Business Analytics students, faculty and staff.
For more information about ebooks @ISU please visit the E-Books at Iowa State University guide.
A collection of ebooks covering all subject areas from a wide variety of publishers. Includes books selected by the ISU library for permanent purchase as well as books from a rotating collection. Some books have unlimited users and others may only be accessed by 1 user at a time.
ProQuest Ebook Central tutorial
Includes books selected by the ISU library for permanent purchase as well as books from a rotating collection. Some books have unlimited users and others may only be accessed by 1 user at a time. Click on the book title to see how many users it allows.
Free access to full text publications in science, technology and public policy from National Academies Press, including content from the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Medicine.
This collection of ebooks is focused primarily on computing and technology subjects as well as a small collection of personal and professional development books.
Electronic access to journals, books and encyclopedias published by Elsevier Science and Academic Press.
ScienceDirect tutorial
Wiley is one of the world's largest scholarly publishers. You can access ISU’s subscription journals and purchased ebooks, as well as open access publications, through the Wiley Online Library.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
