"This book deepens analyzes of the relationships among race, gender, sexuality, nation, ability, and political economy by foregrounding justice-oriented intersectional movements and scholarship including: Black, Indigenous, and women of color feminisms; transnational feminisms; queer of color critique; trans, disability, and fat studies; feminist science studies; and critiques of the state, law, and prisons that emerge from within queer and women of color justice movements"-- Provided by publisher.
Core LGBTQ+ Databases
Use these indexes to find articles and information from peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, news sites, and more!
While not focused solely on LGBTQ+ content, this database is an excellent choice for accessing "... full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses, providing an unmatched, multidisciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives." More than 200 publications are included!
CWI is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. It includes English-language titles from around the world.
"Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity." More than 500 journals & magazines are covered - see the list!
"Formerly known as LGBT Life with Full Text, LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms." Includes more than 600 journals, magazines, newspapers, & books.
This invaluable database is "...an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers."