Hobo Archive: Digital Archiving American Hobo History and Culture (Laura Carpenter, University of Iowa)
This presentation is about creating community-led archival collections using American Studies approaches, community-engaged methodologies, and digital humanities tools. Hobo Archive is a digital repository of cultural artifacts related to hoboing and tramping, created in partnership with the U.S. rail-riding community and developed out of urgency to document and preserve a disappearing group of people. Using the open-source publishing platform Omeka, methods of crowdsourced data collection, and metadata creation via Dublin Core, Hobo Archive is a model for building archival collections that challenge traditional museum hierarchies while promoting more collaborative approaches to archival practices.
Creating Beautiful Online Stories with the New, Open Source FotoStory Tool (Bettina Fabos, University of Northern Iowa)
An overview of the powerful new “FotoStory” digital storytelling tool. Fabos will explain how her work on hand-coded interactive stories led her to build a design-centered open source storytelling and exhibit tool that empowers digital humanities scholars to interpret visual resources and other documents. FotoStory includes a choice of content and image blocks that slide vertically along a parallax scroll, responsive design, and the capability to embed a finished FotoStory into any website.
Developing Undergraduate Students as Collaborators on Public Humanities Projects (Tierney Steelberg, Grinnell College)
This talk will focus on how the Vivero Digital Fellows Program at Grinnell College develops undergraduate student workers as collaborators on public humanities projects through a training model focused on digital humanities skills, ethics, and values.
Pedagogy and Digital Humanities: Iowan Latina/o Memoirs (Lucía Suárez, Iowa State University)
Learning in the Digital World. Reflection of engagement with open access publishing, community outreach, and the university classroom. Compassionate, dynamic, high impact learning practice for today’s world.
Deeper Learning with Digital Humanities (Erin Lane, Cornell College)
My talk will share and reflect upon the use of Digital Humanities in teaching at both Cornell College and Arizona State University. Specifically, I will talk about how DH tools, methods, and projects allow students to interact with content and negotiate meaning in different ways leading to deeper understanding and active engagement with the content and acquisition of transferable skills for the workforce. The talk will include examples of mapping, timelines, video production, podcasting, and website design.
Creating Digital Music: arts thinking for techno-geeks, tech-geeking for artisty types (Christopher Hopkins, Iowa State University)
Professor Hopkins will share philosophical perspectives and some practical techniques of teaching creative digital music to non-majors, especially to students majoring in engineering disciplines and computer science. He will describe his pedagogy that features project-based learning centered on artistic critical thinking
Computers Reading Cookbooks: Exploring the Iowa Community Cookbook Collection with Natural Language Processing (Erin Ridnour, Iowa State University)
Computers Reading Cookbooks is a collections-as-data project utilizing a selection of digitized community cookbooks from ISU Library’s Iowa Cookbook Collection as a corpus for text analysis. Initiated in summer of 2024, this project utilizes VoyantTools and Natural Language Processing (NLP) with Python to explore and visualize regional and community-specific recipe traditions across Iowa. This presentation will provide an overview of this work in progress and share examples and visualizations from the cookbooks that have been digitized so far.
Make Positive Impacts on Your Community with Art (Lindsay Wede, Ames High School)
I will be sharing lesson ideas and tools to use with students to help them make more connections and contributions to people in their community and beyond with art.
