Skip to main content

Documenting Impact & Increasing Visibility

Provides examples and tutorials for documenting and improving scholarly visibility and impact.

Digital Repository @ Iowa State University

The Digital Repository @ Iowa State University is a website designed to increase the visibility and impact of research, scholarship and creative works by Iowa State's faculty, staff and students. Work added to the DR are available for free, public access to readers worldwide. 

What types of materials are in the DR?

  • Journal articles and manuscripts
  • Conference proceedings, presentations and posters
  • Book chapters and encyclopedia entries
  • Technical reports and white papers
  • Extension publications
  • Audiovisual materials
  • Artwork

How can you contribute your work to the DR?

All you need to do is email a copy of your CV to digirep@iastate.edu.

What happens after you send us your CV?

A member of the DR team will:

  • Check the copyright of each of your publications to see whether we can add it to the DR;
  • Contact your publishers for permission to include your publication in the DR;
  • Obtain PDFs of your publications, or, work with you to gather manuscripts of your publications;
  • Format and upload your publications to the DR;
  • Create a research profile for you.

When you submit your research to the DR, we'll create a SelectedWorks research profile. This profile pulls all your work in the DR onto one webpage.

These profiles are:

  • Customizable—you can add information about your research interests, the courses you teach, and your honors and awards;
  • Flexible—you can organize your work according to type (articles, book chapters, etc.) or by research topic; and
  • Yours to keep—you can continue to update your profile, even if you leave Iowa State
  • Example: Michele Schaal

Need more help customizing your SelectedWorks page? Consult the SelectedWorks Owner's Manual.

The DR provides authors with two types of readership reports:

  • A monthly readership report, which is emailed to all authors on the 2nd of each month.
  • An author dashboard, with detailed readership information.

Readership Report

Each month (around the 2nd), the DR will send out readership reports indicating:

  • how many publications you have available in any repository built on the same platform as the DR; and
  • how many times all your publications were downloaded in the past month.

The monthly report may also have announcements from the DR team.

Author Dashboard

The Author Dashboard is a detailed reporting tool available in the DR. In addition to displaying how many times your work has been downloaded, it provides information on:

  • Countries where your works were downloaded;
  • Organizations, universities and other institutions where your works were downloaded; and
  • Referring websites where readers found your work.

This information is available for the total of your works, and for individual publications. The link for your dashboard can be shared, and the data can be downloaded in PDF or CSV formats.

You can access your author dashboard by clicking on the My Account tab in the DR.

Loading

DR@ISU Real-time Downloads

A pin drops on this map every time someone, anywhere in the world, reads something available in Digital Repository @ Iowa State University.

Can I put my article in the DR?

Some things to consider:

  • What version of the article can I self-archive? Most publishers allow authors to self-archive their articles. Some allow authors to post their final published article, while many only allow authors to post their accepted manuscripts.
  • Where am I allowed to self archive? Some publishers will allow you to self-archive on your personal websites and any open repository (Springer). Some will allow you to self-archive on personal websites and institutional repositories (Elsevier). Some explicitly prohibit posting the full-text in any commercial repositories or social media networks (Cambridge).
  • When can I self-archive? You may be able to self-archive your article when it is accepted for publication, or when it is published. Some publishers may place embargos on self-archiving, so you won't be able to post your articles for a specified amount of time. Depending on your publisher, this may be six month, or several years.

Some tips

  • Keep all publishing agreements—publishers can change the terms of their copyright transfer agreements without advance notice. Your signed copyright transfer agreement should explicitly state what rights you've retained and which you've given away.
  • Check with your editors—if your journal's self-archiving policies aren't clear, ask the journal's editors about them before you sign away your copyright. You may also be able to negotiate the right to self-archive your articles after publication.
  • Keep your manuscripts—while many publishers won't allow you to self-archive the published version of record of your articles, many will allow you to self-archive your post-print, or the author's manuscript that has undergone peer review and has been accepted for publication.
  • Understand granting requirements—some granting agencies require grant recipients to make their author's accepted manuscript (post-print) available via an open-access repository after a specified embargo period.

Your Librarian

Creative Commons Statement