Dimensions is a (fairly new) database that includes publications, citations, datasets, grants, patents, clinical trials, policy documents, and preprints. It has the familiar “search and narrow by facet” operation (in the left sidebar) and also includes pre-made analytic views (on the right-hand side).
It is a bit ugly to search, but...here is the best method to find author publications:
On the left side - Click on Researchers (it will show a few of the most cited ones) - scroll down the list of names and click on "more." A search box appears. Type in the author name you are looking for (first name then last name) and "suggestions" will appear. Mouse over or Click on the relevant name to select it, then choose "Limit to." In some cases, you may want/need to also further limit the search set by "Research Organization" or "Research Categories."
For each title in the list, it provides citation numbers and Altmetrics – mouse over Altmetric next to the “View PDF” for each publication for the quick overview. Click on the Altmetric tag itself to see the full view. The Altmetric “may” be useful for publications have yet to be cited, but are getting some “buzz” nationally.
Publication lists can be exported to Excel...but to do so you need to either use SignIn or Register in the upper right corner. Both are free...and once you Login the save/export link with activate.
To register for the first time - simply go to Google Scholar Citations and click on create a new account (in upper right corner). Once you have registered, follow the directions to locate your publications in Google Scholar and pull them into your profile.
Note: Be sure to check the box to make the profile PUBLIC. This will enable researchers to click on your name in the search results and view your Google Scholar Profile and find/view your other publications.
If you already have a Google account, simply sign in and then look in the upper right hand corner of the screen for "My Citations."
Export options from Citation Profiles include as a BibTeX file, downloaded to EndNote, Excel (as a CSV file), RefMan, or converted to a PDF.
You can also choose to be notified by email every time Google Scholar finds a new citation to one of your publications.
There is not just one single "reports" feature for generating scholarly impact graphs within Scopus. Check out some of the following and see if they meet your needs. If none of these give you the look you were hoping for, you can always use your Internet browser to "save as" an HTML file or use a snipping tool or screen capture tool.
Citation Overview is available from all search results screens (can run this for any list of records whether it be for a particular author or a collection of results on a topic). Simply mark all records you want to include and then click on “citation overview” at the top of the results list. If running a citation overview for an author – this feature will also allow you to eliminate self-citations from the report. The citation tracker data is exported in CSV file format that can be opened in MS Excel.
View h-graph is a link from the Citation Overview screen. Within the h-graph page – click on Documents to view pie charts of the records. This will allow viewing charts that analyze journal titles, document types, years, subject areas and co-authors of the records in the set. The graphs are printable and can be exported as a zip file. Citations tab will allow viewing a graph of citations per year for an author’s published works.
Analyze Results – this feature can be run from all search results screens. See sample Analyze Results page. If searching for a specific topic area(s), this report is useful for viewing graphs and raw data showing which:
- Authors have the most publications on the topic(s)
- Author affiliations/institutions are publishing the most
- Journals are publishing the most articles on the topic(s)
- Years articles have been published on the topic(s)
PlumX statistics are available for individual articles. Click on any article title to view the document details screen. Metrics are near the bottom of the page - scroll down to view more. Also, note the link to "View All Metrics" at the top right corner of the page will bring up a much more detailed page of almetrics. E.g., https://www.scopus.com/record/pubmetrics.uri?eid=2-s2.0-84876559339&origin=recordpage
Altmetrics can be linked to, but they cannot be exported, downloaded, or copied/pasted.
Readership Statistics cannot be exported, linked, or downloaded – but they can be copied/pasted.
Saving/Exporting: Export options are available in the upper right corner of the Results and Author Record pages. This will allow you to save the report as a .TXT file or an Excel file.
Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar all offer the ability to generate an author's citation summary, including h-index and a number of other citation metrics. Click on the tabs for each specific database (above this box) to see how.
If you wish to manually generate your own h-index, especially if many of your publications are not included in one of the above databases, see the link below for more details.
Many online journals now provide usage information on the landing page for each article they publish. This can be number of page views or number of times the article was downloaded. The location on the page varies but is usually at the top or on the right side.
If you have published a journal article that is available online but does not provide this information on the page, check with the editor to see if they can provide you with a report of download or page hits for your article. Some editors can also provide information on what the average number of downloads is for a specific journal that you can then compare to your article(s). While usage data is not the same as citation data, it can be an indication of usefulness to other scholars.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
