Skip to main content

Mechanical Engineering Research Guide

Introductory guide to library research and resources for faculty, staff, and students in mechanical engineering.

Library Services: What you need to know

The ISU Library is here to make sure you have access to the information you need, without requiring you to pay out of pocket for access. Here are some ways we can help.

Liaison Librarian

A liaison librarian is an expert at finding information in a particular field or subject area. The ISU Library has a team of liaison librarians representing every subject area studied or taught at ISU. We can help save you time and money by assisting with database selection and information-seeking strategies; adding relevant materials to the collection (including specific items by request); consulting on bibliographic / citation management, data management planning, demonstrating impact for tenure and promotion; and more.

Liaison librarians are also teachers. If you feel that your students would benefit from working with a librarian in class, we can come to your classroom for a guest lecture or bring your students into the library for a hands-on session covering selected library resources that are most relevant for your students' research projects.

Contact information for your liaison librarian can be found on every page of this guide.

Books, journals, standards

The ISU Library has a huge collection of current and historical resources covering all aspects and fields of engineering. This includes books (handbooks, some textbooks, reference books, etc.); journals (academic and trade); industry standards; technical reports; and more. All materials in our print collection can be found using Quick Search on the library homepage. Electronic resources may be found using the e-Journals list or by searching one of our many article indexes and databases.

See the other pages of this guide for more information on finding specific types of information.

Purchase requests

Needed items that are not in the library collection, including standards, may be purchased upon request. Purchases are added to the library's collections. Contact your liaison librarian to discuss your options.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Request materials that are not in the ISU Library collection, and we'll borrow them for you from another library. Physical items come in about a week, digital items usually arrive in less than 24 hours. There is typically no cost to ISU affiliates for this service unless an item must ship from overseas.

Save a walk to the library: request chapters or articles from items in our print collection and we'll get you a digital copy.

Pick from Shelf

Sign in with your Net ID and password when using Quick Search to use the Request option. You can request that items be pulled and held for you at the Main Desk, so you don't have to find them in the library.

Erin Thomas's picture
Erin Thomas
Contact:
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
515 294-9886