Government Information for the United States Research Guide

View executive orders, documents, speeches, press releases, policies, and photos and videos.

The President is the administrative head of the Executive Branch which includes numerous agencies & the Cabinet. The Executive Office advises the President, helps to formulate policy & performs the daily operations of the President's agenda.

From govinfo, the Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.

After each day that Congress is in session, the proceedings are printed in the Congressional Record (CR) and available the following morning. Daily Congressional proceedings may include legislative activity by the chambers and their committees, Member remarks, communications from the president, and more .

Provides Congress with nonpartisan analysis for economic and budget decisions and with estimates required for the Congressional budget process.

Includes summary of debate for the current legislative day, floor schedule for the week, roll call votes, information on the legislative process, directory of phone numbers and addresses and committee memberships.

Links to committee and member home pages, a directory of e-mail addresses, Daily Calendar of Business, and general information about the Senate and the legislative process.

Homesite of the United States Supreme Court

The Data page at BLS includes inflation, employment and unemployment, productivity, and international workforce data.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data.

The federal government's main page for tax information.

The largest source for US education-related statistics, including the searchable Digest of Education Statistics, 1995-present (with older data for some reports). Includes a number of important projects, reports, surveys, and updates on education topics of vital interest. Current projects include studies on teacher attrition; school staffing, and post-secondary credit transfer, among others.

Transportation statistics from the BTS includes data on transportation by mode (e.g. airline) and subject (e.g. safety). Be sure to check the database directory for a list of the available data sets.

Contains information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operations of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes full text of selected BJS documents. Also offers links to sites with related information.

"The Vault is our new electronic reading room, containing more than 3,000 documents that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office."

Full information on understanding current US copyright laws

A Guide to U.S. Government acronyms & abbreviations from UC San Diego