Library Guides: Government Information for the United States Research Guide: Core Resources

Tools for U.S. Government Research

USA.gov
Official Guide to Government Information and Services USA.gov can help you start your search for government information by topic and agency.
Data.gov
Data.gov catalog provides access to U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets. Raw Data Catalog provides an instant download of machine readable, platform-independent data sets while the Tools Catalog provides hyperlinks to tools that allow you to mine datasets.
Science.gov
Gateway to selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text discussions of current, controversial U.S. public policy issues in a variety of areas.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of U.S. congressional legislation from 1945-2020, including how bills were changed, derailed, or passed. [Note: The publisher is no longer updating this resource. For recent year legislative info, see congress.gov]
ProQuest U.S. Serial set digital collection, 1789-1979 This link opens in a new window
Digital version of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
ProQuest U.S. Serial set digital collection, 1789-1979 tutorial
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides access to numerous legal and essential government publications, among them, congressional records, US federal agency documents, and several collections related to Iowa state law. Its archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases.
HeinOnline tutorial
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database covers international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts tutorial
Energy Citations Database - OSTI This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to the US Department of Energy such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science.