Library Guides: Information Systems and Business Analytics Research Guide: Finding Datasets

Data Repositories

Amazon Web Services
Large public data sets in the terabyte range.
Data.gov
Data.gov catalog provides access to U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets. Raw Data Catalog provides an instant download of machine readable, platform-independent data sets while the Tools Catalog provides hyperlinks to tools that allow you to mine datasets.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Iowa State is a member institution. Create an account with your university email address. ICPSR maintains a data archive more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. 16 collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
IPUMS provides integrated public microdata series for the US Census (IPUMS-USA), international censuses (IPUMS-International) and the Current Population Survey (IPUMS-CPS). All data is available for free download from the host site at the Minnesota Population Center.
Recommended Data Repositories
From Scientific Data - an open access journal from the Nature Publishing Group - a list of recommended data repositories.
Registry of Research Data Repositories
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
Stanford Large Network Dataset Collection
Datasets from the Stanford Network Analysis Project.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
The Machine Learning Repository at UC Irvine includes business data sets for bank marketing and credit defaults.
U.S. Government Statistical Agencies
Provided by Purdue University
Yahoo Research Webscope Data
A collection of datasets from Yahoo that are available to academics for non-commercial research. Topics include advertising, competition, computer systems, and ratings data. Included is the recently released Yahoo News Feed dataset.

U.S. Government Statistical Agencies
Provided by Purdue University
City of Chicago Data Portal
dedicated to promoting access to government data and encouraging the development of creative tools to engage and serve Chicago's diverse community. The site hosts over 200 data sets presented in easy-to-use formats about City departments, services, facilities and performance.
Economic Data Series in R
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, a set of economics time series data.
Fraser
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER can be used in conjunction with other Federal Reserve resources, including FRED, ALFRED, the Federal Reserve System Historical Gateway, and curriculum developed by economic education staff.
London Data Store
Published by the Greater London Authority, the Data Store over 600 data sets related to life in London. Winner of the 2015 Open Data Institute Publisher Award.
LTPP InfoPave
LTPP (Long Term Pavement Performance) is a database of highway pavement test data hosted by the Federal Highway Administration. LTPP InfoPave™ enables users to tap easily into the wealth of pavement performance data and knowledge available from the LTPP program.

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

Professor
Innovation and Entrepreneurship,
Business and Economics Librarian
150 Parks Library

515 294-2408

Subjects: Business, Economics, Faculty Resources, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Research & Publication, Teaching & Classroom Support