Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance

Parks Library Dance Resources

These books were all published and added to our collection in 2017. In all there are 15 titles - from 2017 - that we added in our primary collection, housed in GV1580 - GV1800. We may have added other books tangentially related from other call numbers, as well as e-books that are not listed here. This is just print books on this page. The box to the left, if you select it, should bring you to a catalog search for e-books on dance.

2017 Books in our Dance Collection

Dancer Wellness

Dancers who want to get the most out of their experience in dance--whether in college, high school, a dance studio, or a dance company--can now take charge of their wellness. Dancer Wellness will help them learn and apply important wellness concepts as presented through the in-depth research conducted by the International Association for Dance Medicine & Science (IADMS) and their experts from around the world. 

Unworking Choreography

There is no archive or museum of human movement, no place where choreographies can be collected and conserved in pristine form. The central consequence of this is the incapacity of philosophy and aesthetics to think of dance as a positive and empirical art. In the eyes of philosophers, dancerefers to a space other than art, considered both more frivolous and more fundamental than the artwork without ever quite attaining the status of a work.

Moving (Across) Borders

As performative and political acts, translation, intervention, and participation are movements that take place across, along, and between borders. Such movements traverse geographic boundaries, affect social distinctions, and challenge conceptual categorizations--while shifting and transforming lines of separation themselves. This book brings together choreographers, movement practitioners, and theorists from various fields and disciplines to reflect upon these dynamics of difference. From their individual cultural backgrounds, they explore how these movements affect related fields such as corporeality, perception, (self-)representation, and expression.

The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Politics

The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Politics edited by internationally laudedscholars Rebekah Kowal, Gerald Siegmund, and the late Randy Martin presents a compendium of newly-commissioned chapters that address the interdisciplinary and global scope of dance theory - its political philosophy, social movements, and approaches to bodily difference such as disability,postcolonial, and critical race and queer studies. 

Dance and Gender

Driven by facts and hard data, this volume reveals how gender dynamics affect the lives of dancers, choreographers, directors, students, educators, and others who are involved in the world of dance. It unpacks real issues that matter--not just to dance communities but also to broader societal trends in the West. In these studies, dancers and dance scholars take readers into classrooms, rehearsals, performances, festivals, competitions, college dance departments, and company administrations. 

Playable Bodies

Playable Bodies investigates what happens when machines teach humans to dance. Dance video games work as engines of humor, shame, trust, and intimacy, urging players to dance like nobody's watching - while being tracked by motion-sensing interfaces in their living rooms. The chart-toppingdance game franchises Just Dance and Dance Central transform players' experiences of popular music, invite experimentation with gendered and racialized movement styles, and present new possibilities for teaching, learning, and archiving choreography. 

History of Dance 2nd Edition with Web Resource

History of Dance offers readers a panoramic view of dance from prehistory to the present. The text covers the dance forms, designs, artists, costumes, performing spaces, and accompaniments throughout the centuries and around the globe. Its investigative approach engages students in assignments and web projects that reinforce the learning from the text, and its ancillaries for both teachers and students make it easy for students to perceive, create, and respond to the history of dance. 

Transmissions in Dance

This book is a collection of essays that capture the artistic voices at play during a staging process. Situating familiar practices such as reimagining, reenactment and recreation alongside the related and often intersecting processes of transmission, translation and transformation, it features deep insights into selected dances from directors, performers, and close associates of choreographers. The breadth of practice on offer illustrates the capacity of dance as a medium to adapt successfully to diverse approaches and, further, that there is a growing appetite amongst audiences for seeing dances from the near and far past.

The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Reenactment

The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Reenactment brings together a cross-section of artists and scholars engaged with the phenomenon of reenactment in dance from a practical and theoretical standpoint. Synthesizing myriad views on danced reenactment and the manner in which this branch ofchoreographic performance intersects with important cultural concerns around appropriation this Handbook addresses originality, plagiarism, historicity, and spatiality as it relates to cultural geography.

Balanchine Teaching

In 1961, Nancy Lassalle, long-time ballet patron and associate of Lincoln Kirstein, co-founder of the New York City Ballet, was given permission to photograph a two-day teacher seminar led by George Balanchine at the School of American Ballet in New York City. Published for the first time in this slender but exquisitely designed and printed softcover catalog are 14 of Lassalles duotone photographs capturing Balanchine demonstrating various ballet positions, his command of the art and his desire to share that knowledge. The intimate images offer a rare behind-the-scenes glimpse of a pivotal moment in the history of American dance.

Trisha Brown

Trisha Brown re-shaped the landscape of modern dance with her game-changing and boundary-defying choreography and visual art. Art historian Susan Rosenberg draws on Brown's archives, as well as interviews with Brown and her colleagues, to track Brown's deliberate evolutionary trajectory through the first half of her decades-long career. Brown has created over 100 dances, six operas, one ballet, and a significant body of graphic works. This book discusses the formation of Brown's systemic artistic principles, and provides close readings of the works that Brown created for non-traditional and art world settings in relation to the first body of works she created for the proscenium stage. 

Boris Charmatz

Since shocking audiences in 1993, at age nineteen, with his radically sparse À bras le corps, Boris Charmatz has emerged as one of France's leading choreographers. Whether he's creating a dance composed solely of everyday actions, working with an ensemble of children, or running a "dancing museum," Charmatz's work experiments with the body as a vessel for subjectivity, history, and collective action. Featuring original essays and interviews and an oral history by Charmatz's contemporaries, the book is the first to explore the many facets of his career--as choreographer, writer, and director of France's Musée de la danse.

Katherine Dunham: dance and the African diaspora

One of the most important dance artists of the twentieth century, dancer and choreographer Katherine Dunham (1909-2006) created works that thrilled audiences the world over. Through both her company and her schools, she influenced generations of performers for years to come, from Alvin Ailey to Marlon Brando to Eartha Kitt. Dunham was also one of the first choreographers to conduct anthropological research about dance and translate her findings for the theatrical stage. Katherine Dunham: Dance and the African Diaspora makes the argument that Dunham was more than a dancer - she was an intellectual and activist committed to using dance to fight for racial justice. Dunham saw dance as a tool of liberation, as a way for people of African descent to reclaim their history and forge a new future. She put her theories into motion not only through performance, but also through education, scholarship, travel, and choices about her own life.Author Joanna Dee Das examines how Dunham struggled to balance artistic dreams, personal desires, economic needs, and political commitments in the face of racism and sexism.

Honest Bodies

Honest Bodies: Revolutionary Modernism in the Dances of Anna Sokolow illustrates the ways in which Sokolow's choreography circulated American modernism among Jewish and communist channels of the international Left from the 1930s-1960s in the United States, Mexico, and Israel. Drawing upon extensive archival materials, interviews, and theories from dance, Jewish, and gender studies, this book illuminates Sokolow's statements for workers' rights, anti-racism, and the human condition through her choreography for social change alongside her dancing and teaching for Martha Graham. 

Argentine Queer Tango

Argentine Queer Tango: Dance and Sexuality Politics in Buenos Aires investigates changes in tango dancing in Buenos Aires during the first decade of the twenty-first century and its relationship to contemporary social and cultural transformations. Mercedes Liska focuses on one of the proposed alternatives to conventional tango, queer tango, which proposes to rethink one of the alleged icons of a national culture from a feminist conception and to imagine social transformation processes from bodily experiences. Specifically, this book analyzes the value of bodily experiences, the redefinition of the mind-body relationship, and the transformation in the dynamics of the dance from the heteronormative movements of tango. In doing so, Liska addresses the ways in which bodily techniques and gender theories are involved in the denaturing and corporeality decoding of tango and its historical senses as well as the connections between different tango dance practices spread throughout the world.