Skip to Main Content

Sp Ed 330

Resources for finding, understanding, and analyzing resources focused on special education.

Quick Search

You can use Quick Search to find a quick list of resources on education topics.

Need it delivered?

APA Citation Help

Finding Articles on Your Topic

You have a few options on where to start to find articles on your topic.

  • You can start with a basic Quick Search on your topic from the library's homepage (https://www.lib.iastate.edu/).
    • From here you can enter your search terms and click Search.
    • This will pull you a wide range of types of materials, but you can use the limiters on the right side of the search results screen under Tweak my results to limit by Format Type (i.e. Articles, Reference Entries, Books, Dissertations, etc.)
    • From Tweak my results you can also limit or modify settings surrounding Language, Collection (Publisher or database), Author/Creator, Topic (this comes in very handy!), creation date (also very handy depending on your needs!), and Availability (Peer-reviewed, full text online, etc.). 
  • You could also dive right in to do an Advanced Search to search using limiters from the start.
    • You can limit by Material Type, Language, Publication Date, as above, and also focus in on Title, Author/Creator, Subject, ISBN, or ISSN.  
    • You also have greater ability to include or exclude certain search terms using AND, OR, or NOT.

Want to explore a subject-specific database? No problem!

  • Start by clicking on Article Indexes & Databases on the library's homepage.
    • From here, you can search for the name of a database in the Search for Databases box (be sure to click Go!), or browse for a subject related to your topic under the All Subjects dropdown menu.
    • Not only will you see the databases specific to your subject, but you'll also see who your expert librarian is listed to the right of the databases!

Education Indexes

two articles from ERIC. One article contains a number at the end of the line with publication record information that begins with EJ. Then second article has a  number than begs with ED. There are arrows on the image pointing to each instance.

Other Relevant Indexes

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Cara Stone (Educ. & Info. Literacy)
she/her/hers
Contact:
Parks Library 150
515.294.9030

Ask Us - Chat!

BrowZine