Library Guides: Hospitality Management &amp; Event Management Research Guide: Indexes & Databases

Cited Reference Searching

One way for finding additional relevant material is by looking at the references (or footnotes) found in journal articles, books, websites, etc. Use this "How-To-Guide" to sharpen your skills in this vital strategy.

Using Alert Services

You all have unique research foci drawing you into specific paths of inquiry. One helpful technique for detecting when new scholarship on a specific topic has been published is by setting alerts. This comprehensive Alert Services guide will walk you through the how-to process of setting such alerts.

To Broaden Your Search, Try Google Scholar

Article Indexes & Databases

Hospitality and Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
A database all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends and hotel management. It includes both scholarly research and industry news.
Hospitality and Tourism Index tutorial
CABI Leisure Tourism This link opens in a new window
CABI Leisure Tourism indexes global research about leisure, tourism, hospitality and recreation, plus news and research updates and provides full text access to almost 2,400 book chapters from CABI’s tourism book collection.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business topics.
ABI/INFORM Global tutorial
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Scopus tutorial
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is the world's leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of articles covering a wide range of subjects. A good starting point for research. You can sort your results by academic journals, magazines, news and other included source types.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Gartner provides research and analysis for information technology (IT) industries, and analysis of the use of IT in a range of areas, including data analytics, software engineering, supply chain management, and apparel merchandising. Gartner also includes reports about topics that cut across industries including generative AI, data management, and technology trends. All ISU students, faculty and staff have access to Gartner's content through a subscription funded by ISU’s Information Technology Services.

Please note: access to this resource requires an ISU Net-ID. This resource is not available to members of the public visiting Parks Library.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text discussions of current, controversial U.S. public policy issues in a variety of areas. Click "Arts, Culture and Sports" tab for "Travel and Tourism" reports.
Entrepreneurship database This link opens in a new window
The Entrepreneurship Database provides access to key scholarship, tools, and resources to help entrepreneurs and students navigate the complex world of small business.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) iLibrary
This is the knowledge base of OECD which contains books, papers, podcasts and statistics. When prompted to login, select "Sign in via your institution" option. Search for Iowa State University then use it to login. You'll be automatically authenticated if you are already logged in using your University ID.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Providing access to a comprehensive collection of over 2,000 newspapers and news sources from around the world. A few journals are also available. Make sure to filter by "Journal" under "Source Type" to view them. Information is translated into English when original is written in another language.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting.
Business Source Elite tutorial
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Literature in psychology and related disciplines. About 90% of the articles are peer-reviewed; also includes book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. It includes digitized current and back issues of academic journals, books and primary source materials.
EBSCO Management Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 business magazines and journals. Includes Marketline company profiles - search "[company] and marketline"
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) - EBSCOhost Access This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains records and links to education literature and curriculum materials. It includes journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers in topics ranging from pre-k through adult education, teacher education, counseling, second-language learning, special education, and assessment.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.

LibKey Nomad

To simplify your access to ISU Library's subscription resources, you may want to consider downloading the LibKey Nomad browser extension. Learn more about LibKey Nomad.

Business Cases | Case Studies

CABI Tourism Cases This link opens in a new window
Tourism Cases offers case studies from around the world focused on sustainable tourism, recreation, leisure, events and hospitality.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Cases provides faculty, students, and researchers with access to authoritative business cases from over 120 countries and across all business disciplines.
SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Cases includes over 700 case studies of social research, reviewing how methods are applied in real research projects.

Finding Newspapers and Other News Content

Finding Newspapers
This guide provides information and links for accessing current and historical newspapers. The information is available mostly online but some historical content is available on microfilm.